Perlis' highest award for forces chief

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 17 May 2003


KANGAR: Armed Forces chief Jen Tan Sri Mohd Zahidi Zainuddin will be conferred the state’s highest award in conjunction with the Raja of Perlis’ 60th birthday celebrations today.  

He will receive the Seri Paduka Mahkota Perlis (SPMP) award, which carries the title Datuk Seri, from the Regent of Perlis Tuanku Syed Faizuddin Putra Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin Jamalullail. 

The Regent will confer the award on behalf of his father, the Raja of Perlis. 

A total of 693 people will receive awards, including businessman Mohammad Yaacob Azizul Hassan, who will be conferred the sole Darjah Setia Tuanku Syed Sirajuddin Jamalullail (DSSJ) award, which carries the title of Datuk. 

Seven others will receive the Darjah Datuk Paduka Mahkota Perlis (DPMP) which also carries the title of Datuk. 

They are Deputy Culture, Arts and Tourism Minister Datuk Dr Ng Yen Yen, State Speaker Abdul Azib Saad, State Secretary Mohiyaddin alias Mohydin Che Jan, Arau MP Mastika Junaidah Husin, Education Ministry’s Higher Education Department director Prof Dr Hassan Said, , Cement Industries Malaysia Bhd (Cima) senior human resources general manager Datuk Redzuan Sheikh Ahmad and National Cocoa Board director-general Dr Azhar Ismail. 

Three people – Kangar Hospital dental consultant Dr Khalid Sharif, Cima managing director Rosli Sharif, and medical practitioner Dr Othman Romli, – will receive the Darjah Datuk Panglima Sirajuddin Jamalullail (DPSJ) which also carries the title of Datuk. 

Businessman Nordin Abdullah will be conferred Datuk Indera Perkasa (DIP) which carries the title of Datuk Paduka. 

Indera Kayangan assemblyman and Perlis MCA Wanita chief Oui Ah Lan and retiree Datuk Ahmad Salleh will be appointed Justices of the Peace (Jaksa Pendamai). 

State Customs and Excise Department director Ahmad Akbar Zahari, State Legal Adviser Mat Zaarai Alias, State Health Officer Datuk Dr Diljit Kaur, State Public Works Department (JKR) director Mohd Yussof Mustappa State Financial Officer Jamaluddin Hasan, Umno Youth exco member Mohamad Norza Zakaria and State Land and Mines Department director Musa Hassan are among 26 who will receive the Darjah Setia Mahkota Perlis (DSMP) award. 

Berita Harian journalist Mohd Johari Ibrahim, Perlis RTM producer Mohd Shah Hashim, Perlis RTM producer Shahar Kolan will be among 190 who will receive the Pingat Jasa Kebaktian (PJK). 

The others are 61 (Ahli Mahkota Perlis), 85 (Pingat Mahkota Perlis), 13 (Pingat Pekerti Terpilih), 274 (Pingkat Jasa Baik) and 29 (Pingkat Perkhidmatan Lama).  

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

Shoppers are still cautious
MATTA: Include other destinations too
Businesses restart with safety in mind for staff, customers
Negri to move to Phase Four within a week, says MB
‘Changes to RUU 355 being drafted’
TH ready to manage pilgrims’ safety for next haj season
King, Queen on special visit
National mobile app in the works, says MCMC
Teacher pleads not guilty
‘Maintaining green lungs a collective effort’

Stories You'll Enjoy