Calling all budding writers

WHAT began as a joint initiative between INTI College Malaysia and Kojadi to unearth literary talents from secondary schools through the Inti-Kojadi Essay Writing Competition in 1996, has now become a popular annual event recently renamed the Inti Foundation-Kojadi Essay Writing Competition. 

The main objective of the competition is to stimulate young people to express their views on contemporary issues.  

This year is the eighth year of the competition. The topic for this year's competition is The digital age is a boon to humanity.  

Participants are given a free hand to explore the definition of the digital age and are encouraged to express their thoughts. The competition is open to all secondary school students aged between 15 and 20. 

(From left) Inti College Subang Jaya principal Joyce Yuen, Inti Foundation director Dr Wu Ming Chu, Dr Lim with prize winners Samuel, Yun Qing, and Lee Sek King representing his daughter Yen Nee, and Kojadi deputy general manager Er Tian Gin.

The essay should be written in English, be approximately 1,000 to 1,500 words in length, typewritten using double spacing and printed on A4 paper. Participants are reminded to avoid sensitive issues pertaining to the Malaysian education policy. 

Participants may send in as many entries as they wish, but each winner is entitled to only one prize.  

All entries should bear the school stamp and signature of the school principal. The closing date for the competition is July 31. 

The first prize winner will take home RM1,000 in cash, a certificate, a plaque and a Kojadi Study Loan of up to RM30,000.  

The second prize winner will be entitled to win RM800 cash while the third prize winner will get RM500 cash. All winners are entitled to receive certificates, plaques and Kojadi study loans. There will also be 10 consolation prizes of RM100 each up for grab. 

Last year’s competition received an overwhelming response.  

The first prize winner was Samuel Soo Wei Kien (SMJK Chung Hwa, Kota Baru, Kelantan), Liau Yun Qing (Kian Kok Middle School, Kota Kinabalu, Sabah) and Lee Yen Nee (SMJK Chung Cheng, Kota Baru, Kelantan). 

Dr Lim Ho Peng, Chairperson of the INTI Foundation-Kojadi Essay Writing Competition chairperson Dr Lim Ho Peng presented the prizes to the winners. 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Education

Defence Ministry to lend a hand
Sibu teens get JPA scholarship after appeal
Results of public university applications to be released on Wednesday (Sept 15)
Higher education sector to focus on safety and health
Varsities open for admission
New SOP for higher education institutions announced
Higher education institutions to reopen in stages from Oct 15, says Noraini
Experts: School SOP sufficient
Colleges not rushing to reopen for face-to-face lessons
Malaysian earns spot on Global Student Prize 2021

Stories You'll Enjoy