Four outstanding doctors honoured

THE Society of Medical Graduates from India, Malaysia (Somgrim), has for the first time, conferred the Somgrim Outstanding Achieve-ment Awards to four prominent doctors in the country in conjunction with its 25th anniversary held in Seremban recently.

The four, who have made significant contributions in the medical field over several decades, received their awards from the Business Ethics Institute of Malaysia chairman Dr Zainal Abidin Abdul Majeed, who is also a member of Somgrim.

The recipients were pro-chancellor of Mahsa University College Prof Datuk Dr Mohamed Haniffa Abdullah, Qualitas Medical Group managing director Datuk Dr Noorul Ameen Ishack, Sime Darby Group medical adviser Datuk Dr Jacob Thomas and former head of the Armed Forces Medical Corps Maj Gen (Rtd) Datuk R. Mohana Das.

Somgrim past president Datuk Dr P. Krishnan said the society decided to honour the four in conjunction with its silver jubilee celebration.

“The four of them have contributed immensely in their own special way to improve the country’s healthcare system. In between them, they have won the PM’s Quality award, served as heads of medical associations, set up universities and set up a network to help the government provide medical tests for foreign workers to ensure we could check the spread of communicable diseases,” he said.

Also present at the ceremony were Delhi-based Indian Medical Associa-tion (IMA) president Dr K.Vijayakumar and its chief patron Prof Dr S. Arulrhaj who was also Commonwealth Health Professions Alliance chairman.

Dr Krishnan said 14 doctors were also conferred the Fellow of the Indian Academy of Medical Specialities (FIAMS) at the ceremony.

They were Dr E. Navarathnam, Dr S. Susila Devi, Dr S. Viswanathan, Dr S. Arumainathan, Dr S. Benjamin, Datuk Dr L. Krishnan, Dr S. Gogillan, Dr P. Thamizharasi, Dr Solomadan Andrew, Dr Renga Raju, Dr Marik Singh, Dr Navindra Nageswaran, Dr Neville Anthony Fernandez and Dr Glen Fernandez.

They joined an elite group of 70 other doctors who had been conferred the fellowship in Malaysia.

“The recipients may not necessarily be graduates from India. They can be from any university but should have excelled in their respective discipline,” he said.

Dr Vijayakumar said the IMA hopes to widen its network with doctors, particularly those of Indian descent across the globe.

“We already have 230,000 members in India alone and are targetting to reach 500,000 members once we can get more doctors from outside India to become members.

“We want to get more doctors to become members to allow all of us to share our knowledge and learn the latest developments in the medical field from one another,” he said.

For the first time, Somgrim also decided to give honorary memberships to the wives of its former presidents. Dr Krishnan said this was in recognition of their service and outstanding contribution to the society.

The recipients were Datin Dr Viji Krishnamoorthy, Datin Dr Nagula Anandan, Datin Dr Sarammah Krishnan, Dr Jaya Vathana Kirthi and Doreen Kamilini Das.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Stories You'll Enjoy