Most people don’t have to log into their Apple account very often. You might do it when you set up a new iPhone or Mac, or maybe one time you logged into icloud.com to check your mail or access something in your iCloud Drive. But for the most part, it’s a pretty rare occasion.
Unless, of course, you’re a developer or someone who has to access one of the other Apple websites that use your account to log in. In that case, you have a very different experience from most people because you enter your Apple account ID on a regular basis.
And, if that’s you, it’s pretty unsettling to try to log in only to be told your account has been locked, and you have to go through a process to get it unlocked.
To be fair, the process of unlocking your account is mostly just annoying, but not especially difficult. You put in your email, complete the captcha, enter your phone number, approve access on another device, and enter that device’s passcode. It’s really not a huge deal, except for the part where it isn’t at all clear why your account was locked in the first place.
Honestly, there are few messages you get when trying to log in to manage your App Store account, and then being told your account is locked. Weirdly, when it happens, your iPhone still works, and you remain signed in on other devices. I know because I have had this experience at least once a week for the past six months. And, even when my “account is locked,” I can still access it with my Passkey. So, it’s not actually locked?
You can understand why people have questions.
On Reddit, users have described repeated warnings when signing in from Windows computers, even while their Apple devices continue working normally. One commenter described an account that appeared both locked and unlocked, depending on the method used to sign in.
These are individual reports. It’s entirely unclear how widespread the problem is, or whether there is some connection between people who have this experience (are they all developers, etc?). It does, however, point to something that Apple should probably explain much more clearly.
Apple’s support documentation explains that an account can lock after someone enters incorrect account information too many times. That someone could be you, or it could be someone else. Except it also locks after you enter the correct password. Apple encourages affected users to reset their password, but you don’t actually have to –you just have to verify your account to unlock it.
On the one hand, it makes sense that if someone is trying repeatedly to log into your account, Apple would take steps to protect you. But it’s super confusing when the experience doesn’t line up with the explanation. For example, if someone is repeatedly trying to get into my Apple account, shouldn’t Apple notify me somehow? And no, telling me my account has been locked when I try to log in doesn’t count.
Also, if you tell someone their account is locked, they will reasonably assume they can’t use their account. They’re probably not going to try to log in with a Passkey, that is, if they even have one set up at all. (You should, by the way. Passkeys are better than passwords in far too many ways to list here.)
Instead, if you put up that warning, most people are just going to think it means someone has broken into their account. The only question they are going to ask is whether their photos and messages are safe, not whether they should go back and try again with an alternative method of authentication.
Look, I think Apple should solve whatever is causing accounts to lock this frequently. It’s not great. But even worse is the message that does nothing to tell you what’s happening and just leaves you concerned about what’s happening.
I think that’s the part tech companies underestimate. An error message shouldn’t just be a warning that something went wrong. It should tell a customer how worried they should be and what they should do next. “Your account is locked” is pretty alarming in any context, but especially so if you haven’t made clear what, exactly, has been restricted.
To be clear, this problem isn’t new. In April 2024, users were unexpectedly signed out across devices and required to reset passwords. Reporters at both MacRumors and 9to5Mac said they were affected. It happened to me then as well. That incident isn’t necessarily related to whatever is happening now, but it certainly contributes to the overall confusion.
There is, by the way, a practical business lesson here. The more customers depend on your product, the more you have a responsibility to clearly communicate when something goes wrong. In most cases, the people responsible for writing these error messages are thinking about systems, software, not people. And yet, it’s the people who experience the panic and uncertainty that comes with thinking you’ve just lost access to your most important data. Apple should definitely fix the problem, but in the meantime, it should at least fix the way it lets users know that something went wrong.– Inc./Tribune News Service
