WhatsApp is now rolling out a new “View Once” feature for voice messages to all mobile users worldwide.
This expands on the existing feature originally introduced back in 2021 allowing users to send text, images, and videos that can only be viewed once.
Like the existing feature, users will be able to identify voice messages that can be only viewed once by the round icon with the number “one” inside it included with the message.
To send a “View Once” voice message, press the green microphone button in a chat on the right of the chatbox, pull it up to lock the voice recording, then tap on the circular “one icon” to set it as “View Once”. Once the message is recorded, just tap the send button on the right.
After it is viewed by a recipient, the message will then be removed from the chat, instead replaced with text that reads “Opened”.
“View Once” voice messages can also be sent to groups, and will only be removed once all members have listened to it. Each member will only be able to hear it once.