WhatsApp may soon launch a feature to hide your online status


In its report, WABetaInfo stated that over the years, a lot of users requested to be able to hide their online status. — Using phone photo created by Dragana_Gordic - www.freepik.com

WhatsApp is likely to be working on a feature that could hide online status on the application for Android, iOS, and desktop users, according to leaker site WABetaInfo. The new feature is expected to be released in due course.

After announcing that it is developing some major features such as the possibility of editing text messages, the company is now working on the ability to hide users’ online status for a future update of the app.

ALSO READ: This upcoming WhatsApp feature will completely change the way you chat

In its report, WABetaInfo stated that over the years, a lot of WhatsApp users requested the ability to hide their online status. There may be different reasons why people want to use WhatsApp in stealth mode: for example, some want to text without being disturbed by other people, or they feel stalked by someone.

“We know a lot of people want this feature, so we also created a concept to disable the online status last year, that’s a good way to share feedback with WhatsApp,” it said in the report.

Thus, after taking users feedback into consideration, WhatsApp is developing a feature that lets users choose who can see their online status when they open the app for sending messages or chatting, or updating their status.

It is expected that WhatsApp will add an option titled ‘Who can see when I’m online’ to the ‘Last seen and online’ section in the setting on the app.

As per the report, it will be possible to configure who can see when you are online right within your Last Seen settings thanks to two new options: “Everyone” and “Same as Last Seen”. For example, if you choose “My contacts” for “Last Seen” and “Same as Last Seen” for “online”, it means non-contacts won’t be able to see when you’re online.

WhatsApp last year started automatically hiding the Last Seen from contacts you had never chatted with before to prevent third-party apps from monitoring users’ Last Seen and Online status, the report stated.

WABetaInfo said that unfortunately, people that you’ve already chatted with could still see when you are online but thanks to the new privacy setting “who can see when I'm online”, they won’t be able to do it anymore. – Mint, New Delhi/Tribune News Service

Article type: free
User access status:
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!
   

Next In Tech News

Microsoft asks staff to curb expenses
Opinion: It’s alarming when TV shows and movies vanish off streaming services, but there’s a long history of this
Study: Consumers are likely to be susceptible to slick graphic design of trading platforms
US doctor pleads guilty to federal charges tied to dark web, kidnapping plot
Amazon moves to block website it says sells fake five-star feedback
In your office communications, watch your use of emojis
How to get your smartphone ready for a holiday
Snapchat introduces Family Centre tool to boost child safety
Try a free online tool to perfect your touch typing technique
Apps turning restaurant leftovers into cheap meals take off in Asia

Others Also Read