Taylor, Walters in Australian Cricket Hall of Fame (Updated)

SYDNEY (AP): Former captain Mark Taylor and middle-order batsman Doug Walters will be inducted into the Australian Cricket Hall of Fame on Monday at the Allan Border Medal ceremonies.

Taylor, now a television commentator, played 104 tests for Australia, scoring 7,525 runs at an average of 43.49 with 19 centuries.

He made his test debut against the West Indies at Sydney in January, 1989. Walters played 74 tests, including his debut against England at Brisbane in December, 1965, and scored 15 centuries in his career.

All inductees must have been retired from international cricket for a minimum of five years to be eligible for selection. Past inductees include Donald Bradman, Dennis Lillee, Allan Border and Steve Waugh.

The Australian Cricket Hall of Fame was first proposed by the Melbourne Cricket Club in 1995, and opened a year later. Ten players were inducted into the Hall of Fame in 1996, including Bradman, Lillee, Fred Spofforth and Bill Ponsford, and 24 have been added since.

The selection panel includes chairman and former South Australian batsman Bob Lloyd, former test captains Bill Lawry and Richie Benaud, Australian Cricketers' Association chief executive Paul Marsh, Cricket Australia chief executive James Sutherland and three members of the media.

"This year's inductees are two Australian cricketing icons who both originated from country New South Wales and who in their own distinctive way, have had an enormous impact on Australian cricket," Lloyd said in a statement.

"Both have outstanding playing records; Mark as a brilliant slips fieldsman and one of Australia's greatest captains and Doug as an exciting and entertaining batsman who averaged 48.26 over his tests."

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights


Stories You'll Enjoy