Sabah’s Asry puts the brakes on Shahrizal’s dream run

  • Other Sport
  • Friday, 06 Jul 2007

PETALING JAYA: Sabahan Asry Abas ended the gallant run of Selangor's Mohd Shahrizal Latiff to reach the semi-finals of the boys' Under-18 singles competition of the 100PLUS National Junior Badminton Circuit Grand Finals at the Terengganu Equestrian Resort Badminton Hall in Kuala Terengganu yesterday. 

The 17-year-old Asry dug deep into his reserves to win the match 15-21, 21-12, 21-17 to emerge as the group winner. On Tuesday, Shahrizal had pulled off an upset over Bukit Jalil Sport School's (BJSS) Tan Aik Quan. 

In the semi-finals today, Asry will take on Malacca's Goh Soon Huat while Kuan Kam Chung will be up against Terengganu's Azwan Mat Yusoff. Kuala Lumpur's Kam Chung is the only BJSS player to make it to the semi-finals. 

After the victory yesterday, Asry revealed that he was not well prepared for the Finals. 

“My aim is to do well in the SPM (Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia) examinations later in the year and I did not train much. It really feels good to be able to qualify for the semi-finals,” he said. 

Soon Huat, who defeated Lee Ming Shen of BJSS 21-11, 21-9 yesterday, said: “Anyone who has made it this far must be treated with caution. I will play a careful game.” 

In the girls' Under-18 competition, BJSS' Vivian Hoo Kah Mun reached the semi-finals with relative ease, beating Leow Say Pay of Johor 21-11, 21-9 in her final group match. She will play against team-mate Tiffany Chase-Currier for a place in the final. 

The other semi-final is between Sannatasah Saniru and Foong Yi Xin. 


Boys' Under-18: Tan Aik Quan (BJSS-Ked) bt Lee Jo Yew (Kul) 22-20, 21-14; Asry Abas (Sab) bt Mohd Shahrizal Latif (Sel) 15-21, 21-12, 21-17; Kuan Kam Chung (BJSS-Kul) bt The Sheng Li (Prk) 21-12, 21-15; Ng Sun Lay (Ked) w.o. Nurakmal Romsani (Ked); Teo Kok Siang (BJSS-Joh) bt Moi Cheong Leong (Prk) 21-13, 21-16; Goh Soon Huat (Mal) bt Lee Ming Shen (BJSS-Pen) 21-11, 21-9; Azwan Mat Yusoff (Ter) bt Loo Yik Xiang (BJSS-Pah) 18-21, 21-16, 21-15; Oh Soon Keong (Kul) w.o. Chiang Jiann Shiang (Sel). 

Boys' Under-16: Tan Fang Wyei (Ked) bt Jonathan Lee Yu Xuan (BJSS-Mal) 14-21, 21-19, 23-21; Boo Kuo Tuan (Joh) bt Mohd Nor Helmi Arazmi (Kul) 21-23, 21-14, 21-10; Goh Jian Hao (BJSS-Ked) bt Chew Hann Lim (Kul) 21-10, 4-12, 21-17; Ow Yao Han (BJSS-Mal) bt Ng Wei Khai (Ked) 21-7,21-12; Mohd Syawal Ismail (BJSSS-Sel) bt Lee Jian Jee (Kul) 21-17, 21-8; Wong Wei Hong (Prk) bt Eric Reoh (Ked) 23-21, 21-13; Iskandar Zulkarnain (BJSS-Joh) bt Krishna Kumar (Sel) 24-22, 21-13; Loh Wei Sheng (Nse) bt Winson Neo (Sab) 23-21, 21-19. 

Girls' Under-18: Vivian Hoo Kah Mun (BJSS-Kul) bt Leow Say Pay (Joh) 21-11, 21-9; Michelle Chong (Sab) bt Ong Shu Voon (Ked) 21-4, 21-17; Sannatasah Saniru (BJSS-Sab) bt A. Vilashini (Prk) 21-9, 21-11; Nor Hani (BJSS-Kul) bt Wan Azma Wan Zin (Ter) 21-14, 21-10; Tiffany Chase-Currier (BJSS-Mal) bt Lim Phei Yee (Ked) 21-17, 21-13; Ooi Sze Ming (Pen) w.o. Cecilla Koh (Mal); Foong Yi Xin (BJSS-Prk) w.o. Yee Qui Fen (Mal); Phoon Kah Yee (Prk) bt Fatin Shahida Azmi (Ter) 21-16, 21-14. 

Girls' Under-16: Ng Sin Zou (BJSS-Ked) bt Kek Jay Lyn (Kul) 21-14, 21-17; Ng Chiew Ei (Mal) bt Hen Yee Wah (Prk) 18-21, 21-18, 21-14; Chuah Sin Lai (Ked) bt Ng Sin Er (BJSS-Ked) 22-20, 19-21, 21-14; Ng Wyn Nie (Ked) bt Yan Jia Lin (Nse) 14-21, 21-14, 21-16; Ong Boon Hui (BJSS-Mal) bt Leong Xin Hui (Pah) 21-12, 21-14; Florah Ng (Sab) bt Chiam Xue Qi (Pen) 21-8, 21-10;Tee Jing Yi (BJSS-Pen) bt Ng Su Tien (Prk) 21-15, 21-10; Lai Pei Jing (BJSS-Pah) bt Loh Siew Yen (Kul) 21-16, 21-19. 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Across the site