An outright winner in this year’s Sultan of Selangor Cup

Saturday May 7, 2005

An outright winner in this year’s Sultan of Selangor Cup


SINGAPORE: There will be an outright winner in the fourth edition of the annual Sultan of Selangor’s Cup between Selangor and Singapore which will played at the Shah Alam Stadium on May 22. 

Organising chairman Datuk Abdul Karim Munisar, who is also the Selangor team manager, said the winners would be decided on penalty kicks if there was a stalemate at the end of regulation time. Extra time will not be played. 

Last year, Selangor and Singapore were declared joint champions after a 2-2 draw at the National Stadium here. 

“There will be no extra time due to time constraints as the scheduled kick off is at 9.30pm after the match between the veterans. If there is no winner at the end of regulation time, the winner will be decided through penalty kicks,” said Abdul Karim. 

Yesterday, both Selangor and Singapore released their squad list at a joint press conference held at the Singapore FA (FAS) office at the Jalan Besar Stadium. 

Selangor coach Dollah Salleh has included four internationals - Khalid Jamlus, Shukor Adan, D. Surendran and Ahmad Tharmini Salban – and Indonesians Elie Aiboy and Bambang Pamungkas in his squad of 18. 

Dollah also included three players from MK Land, current leaders of Group A in the Premier League. 

The three MK Land players are striker Marlon James, Miroslav Toth and Mohd Noor Derus. 

Singapore will be coached by Radojko “Raddy” Avramovic and have named current national number one goalkeeper Lionel Lewis, internationals Itimi Dickson, Baihakki Khaizan, Mohd Noh Rahman and Ahmad Latiff Khamarudin in their squad.  

English-born defender Daniel Bennett, who played a big role in Singapore’s Tiger Cup triumph, will captain the side.  

Also in the side are Aussie hitman Aleksandar Duric, Japanese star Akihiro Nakamura and Chinese midfielder Shi Jiayi. 

At stake, apart from the silverware, is RM50,000 for the winner while the losing side will pocket RM25,000. 

Not to be left out are the veterans. The Singapore veterans, who have never beaten their Selangor counterparts in the annual series, have included former skippers Quah Kim Song, Fandi Ahmad and T. Pathmanathan while Selangor have Datuk Soh Chin Aun, Santokh Singh, Dollah and Zainal Abidin Hassan.