Special training programme for Asian Games

  • Other Sport
  • Wednesday, 01 Jan 2003

KUALA LUMPUR: The Malaysian Amateur Athletic Union (MAAU) have named 70 athletes for a special training programme geared towards the 2006 Asian Games in Doha, Qatar. 

The MAAU president, Datuk Khalid Yunus, said yesterday that training was expected to begin in March in Bukit Jalil. 

“The selection is made based on merit and potential. We will do yearly reviews on the athletes' performances and those who failed to keep up will be dropped,” said Khalid. 

Among those who were selected are long and triple jumper Ngew Sin Mei, sprinter Petra Nabila Mustafa and 110m hurdler Mohd Faiz Mohamed. 

The trainees are divided into three categories – elite, senior and junior. The elite group comprise 12 athletes. 

“But only a few among those in the elite group will get posted overseas,” said Khalid. 

On Monday, the NSC announced that Malik Tobias (decathlon), Mohamed Zaiful Zainal Abidin (400m), Moh Siew Wei (100m hurdles) and Noraseela Khalid (400m hurdles) would get offers for a long-term “train-and-study” stint overseas. 

Khalid added that they had not shut the door on those who failed to get selected this time. 

“We want athletes who can perform and deliver results. If they can prove that they are able to do so, we will call them up,” he said. 

The MAAU have appointed J.V. Jayan as the training coordinator and six foreign coaches. 

Khalid said that they were also looking for 10 local coaches and those interested can send in their application to the MAAU. 




  • ELITE 


  • Mohamed Shahrulhaizy Abdul Rahman (20km walk), Mohamed Zaiful Zainal Abidin (400m), Mohamed Faiz Mohamed (110m hurdles), M. Thiagu (20km walk), Mohamed Malik Tobias (discus). 

    Women: Moh Siew Wei (100m hurdles), Noraseela Khalid (400m hurdles), Petra Nabila (100m), Ngew Sin Mei (long jump), Roslinda Samsu, Jasmaniah Osman (pole vault), Haryati Mansor (heptathlon). 



  • A. Munusamy, S. Ganeson (1,500m), M. Arul Theva (10,000m), Narinder Singh (20km walk), Loo Kum Zee (high jump), The Weng Chang (pole vault), Wong Tee Kui (hammer). 

    Women: Yuan Yufang (20km walk). 



  • Nazmizan Mohamed, Mohamed Faizal Maslim, Mohamed Ridhuan, Boniface Lejau, Nazrul Nordin, Mohamed Shahrul (100m, 200m), Woon Khoon Hwa, Aaron D’Costa, Zamri Mat Ali, Mohamed Zafril Zuslani, Suresh Moorthy (400m), Mohamed Sasi Kumar, A. Thiruselvam (800m), Jenang Ungker (1,500m), V. Tiruvatiran (5.000m, 10,000m), Robani Hassan, Shinar Shazua Sharudin (110m hurdles), Anuar Che Seman, Shahadan Jamaludin (400m hurdles), Mohamed Zammuarrey, K. Chandramogan (20km walk); 

    S. Elangovan, V. Thiruselvam (3,000m steeplechase), Mohamed Hazuan, Mohamed Shahrul Amri (long jump), Syahrin Mohamed Yah, Azlan Mohamed Noor (triple jump), Ahmad Najwan Aqr, Quah Siew Kean, Syed Zamiluddin (high jump), Pangkas Cashidy, Mohamed Kamilrunizam, Yap Lai Hin (pole vault), Mohamed Hasrul Nizam (shot putt, discus), Sazari Sahar, Mohamed Ikhwan Nor, Mohamed Wafi Isa (decathlon). 

    Girls: Norashikin Abdul Rahman, Siti Fatima Mohamed, Nik Noor Azura Mohamed (100m, 200m), Noor Hazwanie Norizan, Leela Suresh, Norohida Baidawi, Fauziah Razak (400m), Vally Micheal, K. Suriya Dewi, K. Ganthimathi (800m, 1,500m, 5,000m), Siti Zubaidah Adabi (long, triple jump), Siti Shahida Abdullah (hammer). 

    Article type: metered
    User Type: anonymous web
    User Status:
    Campaign ID: 1
    Cxense type: free
    User access status: 3

    Across the site