Triple-layer defence for disaster response unveiled

PUTRAJAYA: The government has established a comprehensive three-tiered disaster management system, encompassing district, state and federal levels, says Datuk Armizan Mohd Ali.

The Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department (Sabah, Sarawak and Special Functions) said this is based on the National Security Council (NSC) Directive No. 20.

This system is based on National Security Council (NSC) Directive No. 20, which outlines the policy and mechanisms for national disaster management and delineates the roles and responsibilities of Disaster Management Committees at each level.

Armizan elaborated on the directive, explaining that it establishes a three-layer committee structure, at a press conference after attending the closing ceremony of the Rakan Nadma Disaster Emergency Simulation Exercise (Randex) 2023 here yesterday.

“Level 1 disasters, referring to localised incidents that are under control and pose no risk of spreading, fall under the jurisdiction of district authorities,” he said, adding that Level 2, involving more serious situations affecting two or more locations, is managed by state authorities.

“Level 3, reserved for complex and large-scale disasters spanning multiple states, necessitates federal involvement, primarily led by the National Disaster Management Agency (Nadma).”

Armizan said there are also specific guidelines on disaster management, through the standing orders on disaster management operations (PTO).

“For example, these PTOs cover various types of disasters, including floods, landslides and haze, among others.”

He added that communication PTOs are also developed to ease media personnel in carrying out their duties.

Armizan said disaster management committees at the district level are ordered to conduct meetings with their respective MPs and assemblymen immediately.

“Committees are closer to their communities, hence they have to be ready at all times.

“I have also received information that some Opposition representatives were not involved in these meetings despite the Prime Minister directive that disaster management should involve all people’s representatives,” he said.

On the inter-monsoon period which began on Sept 19, Armizan said five states and seven districts had already been struck by floods as at Sept 21.

“Seven temporary relief centres have opened with a total of 589 victims. Even during the intermonsoon, we can see floods are occurring,” he said.

He said Nadma will also be paying close attention to 89 localities nationwide for the coming northeast monsoon.

Of the number, 77 of the localities are identified as areas where floods had repeatedly occurred.

This was based on data from the northeast monsoon that began in November last year and ended in March this year.

Although he did not specify exactly where these localities were, Armizan said the majority are in Kelantan, Terengganu, Pahang and Johor.

Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Nation

Johor Pakatan will continue to work with BN even if there is a reshuffle, says state DAP chief
Bomba called in to help transport obese Penang man to hospital
Missing autistic man found 35km from his house in Papar
Water supply disruption in several areas in Port Dickson, Seremban
Star Education Fair 2023: Detailed insight into education vital when pursuing career
myStarJob Fair: Job seekers encouraged to bring CVs
Company, director charged with offering RM15mil worth of preference shares to the public
Eco-tourism players can ‘guard’ isolated islands against turtle hunters, says conservationist
KTM train from Woodlands to JB will be RM5 both ways, says Loke
KL hotel gets hoax bomb threat, says KL police chief

Others Also Read