King confers 2023 Federal Territory Day awards on 164

PETALING JAYA: Agriculture and Food Security Minister Mohamad Sabu headed the list of 164 recipients of awards, honours and medals in conjunction with the 2023 Federal Territory Day celebration on Wednesday (Feb 1).

The Parti Amanah Negara president headed the list of seven recipients who were conferred the Darjah Kebesaran Seri Mahkota Wilayah (SMW) which carries the title "Datuk Seri".

Other recipients of the award were senior deputy chief secretary in the Prime Minister's Department Datuk Sollehuddin Alyubi Zakaria, International Trade and Industry Ministry's chief secretary Datuk Seri Isham Ishak, Malaysian ambassador to the United Arab Emirates (UAE) Datuk Seri Ahmad Fadil Shamsuddin, Royal Malaysian Air Force deputy chief Lieutenant General Datuk Seri Muhamad Norazlan Aris, Orando Holdings Sdn Bhd's managing director Datuk Seri Dr Eng Wei Chun and Amechanus Holdings Sdn Bhd's executive director Datuk Seri Lawrence Yeo Chua Poh.

A total of 15 individuals were conferred the Panglima Mahkota Wilayah (PMW) award which carries the title "Datuk".

Other recipients of the PMW included Sabah and Sarawak Affairs division secretary Datuk Toisin Gantor, Agriculture and Food Security (Policy) Ministry's second deputy secretary Datuk Azah Hanim Ahmad, Kuala Lumpur police chief Commissioner Datuk Azmi Abu Kassim and Domestic Trade and Cost of Living Ministry's chief enforcement director Datuk Azman Adam.

Also awarded their Datukship were InvestKL chief executive director Datuk Muhammad Azmi Zulkifli, Kumpulan KLCC (Holdings) Sdn Bhd Datuk Md Shah Mahmood and UMW Toyota Motor's president Ravindran Kurusamy.

A total of 16 individuals were awarded the Johan Mahkota Wilayah (JMW) while 19 individuals were conferred the Kesatria Mahkota Wilayah (KMW).

Other recipients included 15 individuals who were conferred the Ahli Mahkota Wilayah (AMW) and 92 individuals who were awarded the Pingat Pangkuan Mahkota Wilayah (PPW).

Among those from the civil service and statutory bodies who were awarded the JMW included Chua Choon Hwa from the Women, Family and Community Development Ministry, Major General Masro Kaliwon from the Malaysian Armed Forces, DCP Azari Abd Rahman from the Royal Malaysia Police, Nasri Ahmad from Kuala Lumpur City Hall and Science Research and Defence Technology Institute's Dr Zalini Yunus.

The Darjah Kebesaran Panglima Mahkota Wilayah (PMW) which carries the "Datuk" title was also awarded as a recognition to athletes and national sport associations.

Among them were former national footballer Datuk Lim Teong Kim, national tenpin bowler Datuk Shalin Zulkifli, national body builder Datuk Mohd Syarul Azman Mahen Abdullah and Datuk Arivalagan Ponniyah from the Malaysian Karate Association.

Whereas, Afrita Ariany Nasril from the Malaysian Gymnastics Association was conferred the Johan Mahkota Wilayah (JMW).

The Federal Territory Department congratulated and conveyed the highest appreciation to all the recipients for their services and contributions.

His Majesty, Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri'ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah graced this year’s investiture ceremony held at Istana Negara.

Also in attendance was the Raja Permaisuri Agong Tunku Hajah Azizah Aminah Maimunah Iskandariah.

Article type: free
User access status:
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Nation

Pot, kettle and Dr M’s ‘dictator’ accusation
Debit and credit card options for public transit rides in the works
Sabah Umno election meeting receives commotion reports, says Bung
Just smoke and mirrors: Old 'ghost prank' by fireman resurfaces on social media
Motorist killed in accident with trailer at Kunak
Malaysian Bar has roughly 21,570 members
Floods: Number of victims in Batu Pahat drops to 7,972
Pasir Gudang City Council suffers RM250,000 in damages to cable thefts
Malaysian Youth Index needs to be raised, says Zahid
POIC Lahad Datu to be Sabah's first free trade zone

Others Also Read