Let’s move on for the rakyat’s sake, says Perak MB

IPOH: We need to move on and move forward for the sake of the people, says Datuk Seri Saarani Mohamad.

The Perak Mentri Besar said unlike at the federal level, the decision to form a state government was made quickly due to the party coalition involved in the state.

“In Perak, there are only three coalitions involved namely Pakatan Harapan, Barisan Nasional, and Perikatan Nasional unlike at the federal level where there are more.

“That is why it was easier for us to make a decision. We need to move on and move forward,” he told reporters at Mentri Besar office at the State Secretariat Building here on Wednesday (Nov 23)

Saarani, who was sworn in as the 15th Mentri Besar on Nov 21, said the first state assembly would be held on Dec 19.

“Now that the Mentri Besar and the state executive council have been sworn in, we will soon be tabling the 2023 Budget and the Anti-Hopping law.

“We have also held our first meeting today and I am pleased to say that it went well. Before we ended the meeting, all exco members were given a chance to speak.

“All of us agree that our main focus is on being united, to lessen our differences and minimise our political interest for the sake of the people,” he said.

As for the portfolios, Saarani said he will chair the Islamic Religion, Finance, Security, Land, Natural Resources, Economic Planning, and Government-Linked Companies Committee.

Lintang assemblyman Datuk Mohd Zolkafly Harun will chair the Rural Development, Plantations, Agriculture and Food Industry while Sungai Rapat assemblyman Datuk Seri Dr Mohamad Nizar Jamaluddin will be the Infrastructure, Energy, Water and Public Transportation Committee, chairman.

Others he said included A. Sivanesan (Health, Human Resources, Indian community affairs), Loh Sze Yee (Tourism, Industries, Investment, and Corridor Development), Salbiah Mohamed (Women and Family Development, Social Welfare, Entrepreneur development), Teh Kok Lim (Science, Environmental and Green Technology), Sandrea Ng Shy Ching (Housing and Local Government), Khairudin Abu Hanifah (Education, Higher Learning, Youth and Sports), Mohd Azlan Helmi Helmi (Communications, Multimedia, and Non-Governmental Organisation) and Woo Kah Leong (Domestic Trade and Consumerism, Cooperatives, Chinese New Villages)

Article type: free
User access status:
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Saarani Mohamad , Perak , GE15


Next In Nation

Yayasan Petronas distributes festive goodies to 50 Labuan families
Over RM5mil set aside for 12,450 graduates in Protege programme
Perak Perhilitan confirms tiger sightings in Chemor
Social Welfare Dept aid to continue providing monthly aid to comatose woman
Floods: Number of evacuees in Johor drops to 1,379 as of 8pm on Jan 31
RM50,000 donation received to build UTAR Hospital
Dress code for govt premises is clear, say cops after woman claims she was denied entry to police station
Father pleads guilty to causing death of three-month-old baby
Warden gets death sentence for distributing drugs in Sg Buloh prison
Stop speculating about our son's death, say parents of boy who fell from flat

Others Also Read