Six Bersatu MPs ready to leave seats in GE15

PETALING JAYA: Six MPs from Bersatu are reportedly ready to leave their Parliamentary seats undefended in the next general election.

A Malay daily reported that the six had defected from Umno after winning their seats on a Barisan Nasional ticket in the 14th general election in 2018.

It identified the MPs as Tasek Gelugor MP Datuk Shabudin Yahaya, Sungai Besar MP Datuk Muslimin Yahayam, Kudat MP Datuk Abdul Rahim Bakri, Sabak Bernam MP Datuk Fasiah Fakeh, Beaufort MP Datuk Seri Azizah Dun and Bukit Gantang MP Datuk Syed Abu Hussin Hafiz Syed Abdul Fasal.

Muslimin is also the Entrepreneur Development and Cooperatives deputy minister, and Shabudin was the deputy law minister.

Utusan Malaysia reported that Jeli MP Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed, Masjid Tanah MP Datuk Mas Ermieyati Samsudin and Hulu Terengganu MP Datuk Rosol Wahid were still keen on defending their seats.

Article type: free
User access status:
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Nation

Pakatan govt fell due to internal power struggle, not Barisan, Zahid tells Dr M
Covid-19 Watch: 1,483 new cases, nationwide ICU bed usage at 63.4pc
Budget 2023: Experts, activists urge for prioritising environmental protection
Supply Bill 2023 set for first reading today (Oct 5)
INTERACTIVE: Budget 2023 and GE15 - what you need to know
Longer hours and more places to vote in GE15
Women’s political participation still poor, says AWAM
‘All parties should introduce gender quotas’
Wanted: More female reps
Umno rallies leaders for election

Others Also Read