PM to open first phase of Putrajaya MRT on June 16

KUALA LUMPUR: The first phase of the Putrajaya MRT - stretching for 17.5km from Kwasa Damansara to Kampung Batu - will be opened by Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob.

In a statement Tuesday (June 7), Mass Rapid Transit Corporation Sdn Bhd (MRT Corp) said Ismail Sabri would perform the honour next Thursday morning (June 16), before passenger operations commence by 3pm that day.

The first phase of the Putrajaya line covers 12 stations - Kwasa Damansara, Kampung Selamat, Sungai Buloh, Damansara Damai, Sri Damansara Barat, Sri Damansara Sentral, Sri Damansara Timur, Metro Prima, Kepong Baru, Jinjang, Sri Delima, and Kampung Batu.

The first phase of this line allows passengers to change over to KTM stations at Sungai Buloh, Sri Damansara Timur (to Kepong Sentral), and Kampung Batu.

Thirteen new bus routes will also start operating with the new MRT service. Seven of the MRT stations also offer parking facilities for more than 2,800 cars.

Follow us on our official WhatsApp channel for breaking news alerts and key updates!

Next In Nation

King conveys 91st anniversary wishes to Malaysian army
Case of minister's car tailgating ambulance settled, says Perak top cop
29 nabbed for immigration offences in Johor joint ops
Track down tax evaders regardless of title or position, PM tells LHDN
Ex-Tronoh rep Paul Yong's rape conviction stays
King Harald V’s return plans progress as health improves, says Norwegian palace
Pokok Sena in Kedah experiences heatwave, entire Perlis on alert, says MetMalaysia
Agreement related to 1MDB asset recovery vague, not detailed, says Johari
Muhyiddin files appeal over reinstatement of power abuse charges
INTERACTIVE: Drug addiction in Malaysia and the govt's aim to decriminalise it

Others Also Read