King confers ‘Tun’ title on duo

Top award: The King conferring the SSM award on Malanjum at Istana Negara. — Bernama

KUALA LUMPUR: Yang di-Pertuan Agong Al-Sultan Abdullah Ri’ayatuddin Al-Mustafa Billah Shah has conferred the Darjah Seri Setia Mahkota (SSM) award, which carries the title “Tun”, on former Chief Justice Tan Sri Richard Malanjum and former Felda Group chairman Tan Sri Raja Muhammad Alias Raja Muhammad Ali.

The two prominent figures led the list of 44 recipients of the federal awards, honours and medals in conjunction with the King’s birthday, at the first investiture ceremony at Istana Negara here yesterday.

Malanjum, 69, is the recipient of the SSM award for 2020, while Raja Muhammad Alias is among a total of 1,207 individuals conferred with federal awards and medals this year.

Malanjum was appointed Chief Justice on July 11, 2018, and served as the Chief Judge of Sabah and Sarawak from 2006 until 2018, before retiring on April 12, 2019.

Raja Muhammad Alias, 89, was Felda Group chairman from 1966 until 2001, and became Yayasan Felda chairman in 1998.

Also present at the ceremony yesterday were Raja Permaisuri Agong Tunku Hajah Azizah Aminah Maimunah Iskandariah and Prime Minister Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob.

The ceremony also saw Sarawak Chief Minister Datuk Patinggi Abang Johari Tun Openg, and Inspector-General of Police Datuk Seri Acryl Sani Abdullah Sani receiving the Darjah Panglima Mangku Negara (PMN) award, which carries the title “Tan Sri”.

The Yang di-Pertuan Agong also conferred the Darjah Panglima Setia Mahkota (PSM) award, which also carries the title “Tan Sri”, on 19 individuals, including Bank Negara Governor Datuk Nor Shamsiah Mohd Yunus and former Universiti Teknologi Mara (UiTM) board of directors chairman Datuk Seri Syed Zainal Abidin Syed Mohamed Tahir, who are the recipients of the PSM award for 2020.

PSM award recipients for 2021 are Dewan Rakyat Speaker Datuk Azhar Azizan Harun, former transport minister Datuk Seri Liow Tiong Lai, the Prime Minister’s Special Envoy to the Middle East; PAS president Datuk Seri Abdul Hadi Awang, Chief Judge of Sabah and Sarawak Datuk Abang Iskandar Abang Hashim, and Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission chief commissioner Datuk Seri Azam Baki.

The other PSM recipients are Foreign Ministry secretary-general Datuk Seri Muhammad Shahrul Ikram Yaakob, Sarawak state legislative assembly speaker Datuk Amar Mohamad Asfia Awang Nassar, International Islamic University Malaysia president Datuk Dr Mohd Daud Bakar, astrophysicist Datuk Prof Emeritus Dr Mazlan Othman, and Malaysian Institute of Integrity board member Datuk Dr Ismail Ibrahim.

Also awarded the PSM are Khazanah Nasional Bhd board member Datuk Mohammed Azlan Hashim, Leong Hup International Bhd executive director Datuk Lau Eng Guang, The Edge Media Group executive chairman Datuk Tong Kooi Ong, former deputy agriculture and agro-based industry minister Datuk Seri Mohd Shariff Omar, Ikhlas Capital chairman Datuk Seri Nazir Razak, LB Aluminium Bhd executive chairman Datuk Leow Chong Howa, and Infinity Logistics and Transport Ventures Limited executive director Datuk Nelson Tan Jyh Yaong.

Sultan Abdullah also conferred the Darjah Panglima Setia Diraja (PSD) award, which carries the title “Datuk”, on former director of the personnel services division (manpower branch) of the Malaysian Armed Forces headquarters Mejar-Jen (Rtd) S. Suriakala, who is the PSD award recipient for 2020.

PSD award recipients for this year are division secretary of the Human Resource Division of the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Shahrul Kamal Osman and former assistant of chief of staff of personnel services of the Malaysian Armed Forces headquarters Lt-Jen (Rtd) Datuk Azlan Abdul Rahman.

The King also conferred the Darjah Panglima Jasa Negara (PJN) award, which carries the title “Datuk”, on 18 individuals including Court of Appeal judges Datuk M. Nantha Balan and Datuk Darryl Goon Siew Chye, former national badminton player Datuk Mohmed Misbun Sidek, Celcom Axiata Bhd chief executive officer Mohamad Idham Nawawi and Sabah Deputy Chief Minister II Datuk Dr Jeffrey Kitingan.

In an immediate reaction, MCA president Datuk Seri Dr Wee Ka Siong congratulated Liow for the latest honour bestowed upon him. “Congratulations to the former MCA president and Transport Minister, who was conferred PSM by the Yang di-Pertuan Agong,” he said on Facebook.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 46
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

Kek Lok Si temple lights up in conjunction with CNY
Covid-19: Two new clusters involving state GOF HQ and school detected in Sabah
Domestic user power tariffs will not go up, says PM
Malaysian Embassy in Seoul to reopen Monday (Jan 31)
Johor polls: Ahmad Maslan confirms he won't be contesting, to help Barisan candidates instead
Cops record Wan Azizah’s statement in connection with Tommy Thomas’ book
Covid-19: Walk-in boosters for 18-year-olds and above at all PPVs from Jan 29
Covid-19: Clinical trial volunteers want MySejahtera vaccination status issues sorted out
Navy's fourth Keris-class littoral mission ship KD Rencong now in active service
Appeals Court upholds sentence for Air Force corporal who forced colleague to perform oral sex

Others Also Read