Perikatan has support of 112 MPs in Dewan Rakyat

PETALING JAYA: Perikatan Nasional now has the backing of 112 MPs in the Dewan Rakyat.

This came about with the recent support of three PKR MPs who had left their party to become independents but have voiced their support for Perikatan.

Kuala Langat Dr Xavier Jayakumar, who quit PKR yesterday, had expressed his support for Perikatan.

On Feb 28, two other PKR lawmakers – Julau’s Larry Sng and Tebrau’s Steven Choong had announced that they had left the party and stated their support for Perikatan and Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin.

The Perikatan government initially had 112 seats in the Dewan Rakyat, with 31 from Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia (Bersatu), 18 from PAS, one independent (Lubok Hantu MP), one from Sabah STAR, Parti Bersatu Sabah (one), GPS (18) and 42 MPs from Barisan Nasional consisting of 38 from Umno, MCA (two), MIC (one) and one from PBRS.

However, earlier this year, three Umno lawmakers had announced that they had withdrawn their support for Perikatan, leaving the latter with only 109 seats in the Dewan Rakyat.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 46
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Perikatan Nasional , MPs , Dewan Rakyat , politics


Next In Nation

Malaysians in Hungary see life returning to normal, thanks to vaccination
Pub in Sibu raided for operating during lockdown, 38 patrons issued compound notices
JKJAV: Changes to vaccination appointments for June 14-18 at Mitec, check MySejahtera for updates
Next two weeks of lockdown critical to reduce daily infections to 4,000, says Health DG
Make it easier for us to channel aid, say NGOs
Pregnant woman in Perak becomes three millionth person to be vaccinated
Nearly 1.3 million gotten second dose
Why high jab rate matters
RM8bil for subsidies
2.5 million documented foreigners to be jabbed

Stories You'll Enjoy