MCO: Only students sitting for exams allowed to return to school, says Education Ministry

PETALING JAYA: Only students sitting for exams in states under the movement control order (MCO) are allowed to return to school for lessons, says the Education Ministry.

This involves Sijil Pelajaran Malaysia (SPM), Sijil Vokasional Malaysia (SVM), Sijil Kemahiran Malaysia (SKM), Sijil Tinggi Persekolahan Malaysia (STPM), Sijil Tinggi Agama Malaysia (STAM) and Diploma Vokasional Malaysia (DVM) 2020 and 2021 students, as well as equivalent international exams.

“Primary pupils, as well as Forms One to Four students, will continue learning from home starting Jan 20 according to theirs and their teachers’ suitability.

“This also applies to SVM Semester 2 students and DVM Semester 2 students in vocational colleges.

“Teachers are required to return to their stations before Jan 20 and teachers who are involved in the SPM, SVM, SKM, STPM, STAM and DVM 2020 and 2021 exams in states under the MCO are required to attend school," the ministry said in a statement Monday (Jan 11).

Students in boarding schools and in day-school hostels who will be sitting for these exams, it added, are allowed to return from Jan 16 onwards.

Special authorisation letters to cross districts and states will be issued by the schools.

Matriculation students in MCO states who are already on campus, it added, are required to stay on to continue their hybrid lessons.

“Teaching and learning for Teacher Training Institutes (IPG) students will be conducted online starting Jan 17.

“Private kindergartens registered under the ministry can continue face-to-face operations,” the ministry said.

Meanwhile, it said educational institutions registered under the ministry, including private ones, in conditional MCO and recovery MCO states, will operate according to their respective academic calendars.

“The ministry urges educational institutions that are not registered under us to also follow this ruling, including schools under state governments.

“The monitoring of the operations of educational institutions will be carried out continuously to ensure everyone’s health and safety,” it added.

Prime Minister Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin announced in a special televised address to the nation that the MCO will be implemented in Penang, Selangor, Kuala Lumpur, Putrajaya, Labuan in the Federal Territories, Melaka, Johor and Sabah.

He also said the conditional MCO will be enforced in Pahang, Perak, Negri Sembilan, Kedah, Terengganu and Kelantan.

The recovery MCO will be implemented in Perlis and Sarawak.

Article type: free
User access status:
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

MCO , SPM , exams , Education Ministry , education


Next In Education

Pkharuddin appointed new Education DG
M’sian students in a bind
Lure of the NZ varsities
‘No quota, cable in public varsities’
UiTM terminates employment of lecturer accused of sexual harrassment
MOE conducts in-depth probe into alleged kidnap bid of pupils
Competition high to get into public universities this year, says ministry DG
Free year-long access to epaper for undergrads
Slim River school’s Class of 1970 basks in reunion joy
Weigh options for higher education

Others Also Read