DAP, Amanah sack rogue state reps for defecting to Perikatan

  • Nation
  • Tuesday, 10 Mar 2020

DAP disciplinary committee chairman Chong Chieng Jen.

PETALING JAYA: DAP and Parti Amanah Nasional (Amanah) have sacked the rogue state assemblymen who defected to Perikatan Nasional state governments in Melaka and Perak.

DAP and Amanah issued statements stating that the two parties have decided to terminate the memberships of the four – DAP Melaka state assemblyman Norhizam Hassan Baktee (Pengkalan Batu), Perak DAP duo Yong Choo Kiong (Tronoh) and A. Sivasubramaniam (Buntong) and Perak Amanah's Hasnul Zulkarnain Abd Munaim (Titi Serong).

In a statement, DAP disciplinary committee chairman Chong Chieng Jen (pic) said that as the defections were seen as "betrayal of the people's mandate", their memberships are automatically terminated.

"The DAP disciplinary committee has today terminated the membership of Norhizam for crossing over from DAP to Perikatan.

"In respect of the two Perak state assemblymen who have defected, namely, Yong and Sivasubramaniam, given that they have publicly announced that they have quit the party, the disciplinary committee has also decided to terminate their membership," said Chong.

He also said all DAP members are to disassociate themselves from the three defectors and "that no member shall accept any official position offered by Perikatan".

In another statement, Amanah decided to sack Hasnul.

"He is no more the youth chief. The Amanah youth wing committee stands solidly with Amanah and there is no one who has followed him (to defect)," said Amanah deputy youth chief Shazni Munir Ithnin.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across the site