Tok Mat wins Rantau by-election with a 4,510 vote majority

Barisan candidate Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan celebrate The wining of DUN Rantau With Big majorit

RANTAU: It's official! Election Commission (EC) declares Barisan Nasional's Datuk Seri Mohamad Hasan winner of the Rantau by-election with 10,397 votes.

Mohamad had a 4,510 vote majority over his main rival, Dr S. Streram from Pakatan Harapan, who garnered 5,887 votes.

Independent candidates R. Malarvizhi and Mohd Nor Yassin polled 83 and 79 votes, respectively, meaning both are likely to lose their deposits.

At 8.10pm, the EC announced that the turnout for the by-election stood at 79.3%, surpassing it's initial target of 70%.

In GE14, Mohamad was declared the winner of the seat after Dr Streram was prohibited from entering the nomination centre to submit his nomination papers.

He was stopped for not having a pass issued by the EC.

Election Court judge Azimah Omar allowed Dr Streram's petition for a by-election on the grounds that Mohamad's election victory was not valid.

The Rantau polls is the seventh by-election post-GE14, and the third to be held in 2019 after Cameron Highlands and Semenyih.


Across The Star Online

Air Pollutant Index

Highest API Readings

    Select State and Location to view the latest API reading

    Source: Department of Environment, Malaysia