Gobind replaces Pua as new Selangor DAP chairman

Gobind Singh Deo

PETALING JAYA: Communications and Multimedia Minister Gobind Singh Deo (pic) is the new Selangor DAP chairman.

The Puchong MP was appointed to the post from among 15 newly elected Selangor DAP committee members following party polls at the Selangor DAP convention on Sunday (Dec 9).

Gobind polled 393 votes and was placed ninth from a total of 40 contestants.

Outgoing chairman Tony Pua, who is also Damansara MP, managed to secure only 292 votes which placed him 19th thus eliminating him from the committee.

Only the top 15 contestants will sit in the committee.

When met after the results were announced, Pua said he was disappointed over the loss as he only said he didn't want to contest the state chairman.

"I didn't say I didn't want to be in the committee," he said.

Meanwhile, Gobind said winning or losing was part of an election process.

"I thank the previous committee led by Pua and it's time we continue working for the rakyat," he said.

State executive councillor Ng Sze Han received the highest number of votes at 491 followed by  Tiew Way Keng (463), Ronnie Liu (442), Ng Suee Lim (439), V. Ganabatirau (429), Lau Weng San (421), Duncan Lee (410), Lee Fu Haw (400), Gobind Singh Deo (393), Bryan Lai (391), Ean Yong Hian Wah (384), Tee Boon Hock (345), Teng Chang Khim (335), Ong Kian Ming (324) and Lee Kee Hiong (302).


The following is the Selangor DAP committee 2018-2020:


Chairman: Gobind Singh Deo

Deputy chairman: Ean Yong Hian Wah

Vice chairmen: Ng Suee Lim and V. Ganabatirau

Secretary: Ronnie Liu

Assistant secretary: Ong Kian Ming

Treasurer: Ng Sze Han

Assistant treasurer: Duncan Lee

Organising secretary: Bryan Lai

Assistant organising secretaries: Tee Boon Hock and Lau Weng San

Publicity secretary: Tiew Wey Kheng

Publicity assistant secretary: Lee Fu Haw

Education bureau director: Lee Kee Hiong

Committee member: Teng Chang Khim


Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 46
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Next In Nation

No running away: 50 Klang joggers issued compound notices for violating MCO
Cops nab eight motorcyclists in Alor Setar for various traffic offences, violating MCO
Penang cops arrest another suspect in probe into break-in at MBPP mayor's official residence
Cops raid brothel, detain 19 on Sunday (June 13) night
Malaysia-born science journalist Ed Yong wins 2021 Pulitzer Prize
Join feng shui consultant Datuk Joey Yap on Maxis Business Spark Engage (June 16)
Employers to pay for jabs
Trade unions hail Pikas, want to meet Miti over costs fears
Malaysia working on two vaccines for Covid-19
Post-Covid-19 strategies to be presented to National Security Council

Stories You'll Enjoy