Losing candidates in Subang all have deposits confiscated (updated)

SUBANG JAYA: Pakatan Harapan retained the Subang (formerly Kelana Jaya) parliamentary as well as the Kinrara and Subang Jaya state seats with enough votes to cause all opponents to lose their deposits.

Under the election rules, candidates need to get at least one-eighth of the votes in a constituency to get their deposits back.

Subang Jaya folks will see a young assemblyman as new face Michelle Ng Mei Sze of DAP won a 48,272-vote majority, garnering 55,354 votes.

The 28-year-old lawyer was fielded after incumbent Hannah Yeoh moved to contest the Segambut parliamentary seat.

Her DAP colleague Ng Sze Han, the Kinrara incumbent, also retained his seat with a 45,212-vote majority.

Parliamentary incumbent Wong Chen also retained his Subang seat with 92,353-vote majority.