Sarawak DAP to use rocket logo for GE14

  • Nation
  • Monday, 09 Apr 2018

KUCHING: Sarawak DAP candidates will use the party's familiar rocket logo for GE14.

State DAP chairman Chong Chieng Jen said this was agreed in a Sarawak Pakatan Harapan meeting here on Monday (April 9).

"In Sarawak, the use of logo is a matter that rests solely on Sarawak Pakatan.

"We have decided that DAP will use the rocket symbol while PKR and Amanah will both use the PKR logo," he told reporters after the meeting at state DAP headquarters here.

Chong said the situation in Sarawak was different from peninsular Malaysia.

"The sentiment of the people and accessibility of information is different. In certain areas, people are so used to DAP that if there is a sudden change of logo, our message may not be able to reach all voters and this may cause a disadvantage," he said.

State Amanah chairman Fidzuan Zaidi said the party's candidates will use the PKR logo as it was more familiar to rural voters.

Chong also said seat allocation had been finalised between the three Pakatan parties, with DAP to contest in nine parliamentary seats, Amanah, six and PKR, 16.

Only parliamentary seats will be contested in Sarawak as the state election was held in 2016.

"We will announce our candidates after the Election Commission announces the nomination and polling dates," Chong said.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Next In Nation

MetMalaysia issues typhoon advisory
Covid-19: Heads of two schools in Alor Gajah test positive
Senior citizen nabbed over assault of motorist in Pasir Gudang
Masidi: No truth to rumours of MCO in KK
Employer who allegedly assaulted bodyguards apologises
Viral 'police cartel' list is fake, ex-cop nabbed for allegedly spreading it, says Bukit Aman
Housewife losses RM500 in Hari Raya cookie scam
Ismail Sabri: 72 compounded for SOP violations on Friday (April 16)
Covid-19: Over 1,000 new cases from Selangor and KL on Saturday (April 17)
EMCO to be imposed in multiple areas nationwide from April 18-May 1

Stories You'll Enjoy