Najib launches Phase 2 of Sungai Buloh-Kajang MRT line

  • Nation
  • Monday, 17 Jul 2017

KUALA LUMPUR: The second phase of the 51km Mass Rapid Transit (MRT) Sungai Buloh-Kajang (SBK) line has been launched by Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.

Phase 2 of the line runs from the Semantan station to the Kajang Station and has 19 stations across 30 km.

This follows the launch of Phase 1 of the SBK line, which was opened by Najib last December.

Speaking at the launch on Monday at the TRX MRT station on Jalan Tun Razak, Najib said the line is a game-changer as it will bring drastic changes to the lives of Malaysians and tourists.

After the ceremony, Najib and his wife Datin Seri Rosmah Mansor, along with other guests, boarded a train which travelled to the Stadium Kajang MRT station where a concurrent launch ceremony was being held.

The MRT-SBK line has a total of 31 stations, with seven of them underground, namely Muzium Negara, Pasar Seni, Merdeka, Bukit Bintang, Tun Razak Exchange, Cochrane and Maluri.

Commuters can ride the entire length of the line from 4pm to 11.30 pm Monday, with free rides on the 19 Phase 2 stations from Kajang to Muzium Negara.

Fares will be charged from Tuesday and will range from RM1 to RM6.40.

Meanwhile, it was announced that commuters using the MRT, LRT and monorail lines will enjoy a 50% discount starting Tuesday.

Commuters can enjoy the discount right until Merdeka Day on Aug 31, said Najib.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

What do you think of this article?

It is insightful
Not in my interest

Across The Star Online