Ku Li now longest-serving MP

KOTA BARU: Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah is now the longest-serving MP after he won the Gua Musang seat.  

More popularly known as Ku Li, the former finance minister retained the seat by defeating PAS’ Zulkefli Mohamed by a 4,394-vote majority. 

Tengku Razaleigh, 71, polled 14,063 votes while Zulkefli obtained 9,669 votes. Gua Musang has 29,986 registered voters.  

With this latest success, Ku Li set a record by successfully defending the seat, which he first won uncontested in 1974. 

The seat was previously known as Ulu Kelantan.  

A former bank officer, Tengku Razaleigh joined Umno in 1962 and his first outing at the hustings was in 1969. That year, he won the Ulu Kelantan Barat state seat, beating a PAS candidate. 

He moved on to the parliamentary level in 1974 and since then has been the MP of Gua Musang. He set up the Semangat 46 party in 1989 after Umno was declared an unlawful party by the court. 

He later rejoined Umno, but did not hold any government post.  

Before Parliament was dissolved on Feb 13, Sarawak Chief Minister Tan Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud was the longest-serving MP. 

Taib had been Kota Samarahan MP since 1970 but in this election, he made way for his son, Datuk Seri Sulaiman, to contest the seat. – Bernama  

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 46
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Next In Nation

‘Take extra precautions’
Sabah malls allowed to open despite HIDE listing
‘Only one in thousands of lorry drivers tested positive’
Adapting to the new norm
Ramadan in Sweden has its own charm
‘Do not try to sneak past’
Speak up over Ain Husniza issue or resign, Maszlee tells Radzi
Only non-contact sports like jogging, cycling allowed in Penang during MCO, says state govt
Thank you for your selfless love, Dr Wee wishes all mothers a Happy Mothers’ Day
Sungai Buloh overhead bridge restaurant temporarily closed for sanitation work, says PLUS

Stories You'll Enjoy