Siti Hasmah heads Penang list

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 12 Jul 2003

PENANG: The Prime Minister's wife will be conferred the Darjah Utama Pangkuan Negri (DUPN) in conjunction with the 65th birthday celebration of Yang di-Pertua Negri Tun Abdul Rahman Abbas today. 

Datin Seri Dr Siti Hasmah Mohamed Ali leads the state honours list with the award, which carries the title Datuk Seri. 

Four people, including the Prime Minister's special economic adviser Tan Sri Nor Mohamed Yakcop, will be conferred the Darjah Gemilang Pangkuan Negri (DGPN), which also carries the title Datuk Seri. 

The other three DGPN recipients are Pensonic Holdings Bhd executive director Datuk Chew Weng Khak, Star Publications (M) Bhd regional director Datuk Kamal Hashim, who is also Honorary Consul of the Netherlands (Northern Region) and Wushu Federation of Malaysia president Datuk Kee Ah Mat @ Kee Yong Wee, who was formerly deputy trade and industry minister  

A total of 1,398 people will receive state titles and awards, including 11 to be conferred the Darjah Mulia Pangkuan Negri (DMPN), which carries the title Datuk. 

They are Universiti Sains Malaysia Vice-Chancellor Prof Datuk Dzulkifli Abdul Razak, Universiti Malaya Pro-Chancellor Toh Puan Dr Aishah Ong, Penang High Court judge Datuk Mohd Noor Abdullah, Bank Negara deputy governor Ooi Sang Kuang and Escoy Holdings Bhd managing director Datuk Nazir Ariff Mushir Ariff. 

The others are Osram Opto Semiconductors president Dr Rolf Ruediger Mueller (honorary), Malaysian Sociological Research Institute chairman Dr Alijah Gordon, Sarawak Enterprise Corporation Bhd executive director Chew Kong Seng @ Chew Kong Huat, architect Dr Kenneth Yeang, Sin Chew Media Group executive director Liew Chen Chuan @ Liew Kam Chean, and Southern Steel Bhd group managing director Dr Tan Tat Wai. 

The Darjah Setia Pangkuan Negri (DSPN) award, which also carries the title Datuk, will be conferred on 63 recipients. 

Among them are The Star's deputy group chief editor Wong Puan Wah @ Wong Sulong, Penang Land and Mines director Ahmad Phesal Talib, Barkath Group of Companies chief executive officer Barkath Ali Abu Backer, Globetronics director Dr Chong Eng Keat @ Teoh Eng Keat, Magnum 4D Penang executive director Freddie Choong Ewe Eong and Malaysian Maritime Services Sdn Bhd managing director Dahlan Jaffril Webster (honorary). 

Others are Cititel Hotel Management Sdn Bhd chief operating officer Eric Lim Hock Kheng, Penang 2002 Tokoh Guru Daud Taha, Penang Education director Dawa @ Dewa Abdullah, Penang and Province Wellesley Contractors and Lorry Owners Association chairman Goh Pon Su @ Goh Kee Chuan, Bukit Aman deputy director (I) Deputy Comm Hasan Ahmad, and Higher Education Department director Prof Datuk Dr Hassan Said. 

Also included are Hitoshi Ishimori (honorary), Huang Chen Chih (honorary), Lee Kuen Yao, Lee Peng Joo (honorary), Liew Chook San, Datuk Dr Mohamed Mydin Mohd Musa, Dr Neoh Soon Bin, Ong Eng Khuan, DCP Othman Talib, Prof Dr S. Ahmad Hussein, Dr Shafie Ooyub, Tan Gin Soon, Tan Kim Seah @ Tan Tee Ewe, Tsuyoshi Watanabe (honorary), Wong Kam Fuat, Prof Dr Zainal Abidin Ahmad. 

The Darjah Johan Negri (DJN) will be conferred on 85 recipients. 

Among them are Sungai Dua assemblyman Jasmin Mohamed, Sungai Bakap assemblyman Lai Chew Hock, Berapit assemblyman Lau Chiek Tuan, and Air Itam assemblyman Lye Siew Weng,  

Others include Penang Girl Guides Association vice-president and Alumni Convent Light Street vice-president Tan Leh Sah, honorary investment and trade representative of the Philippines to Malaysia Lim Hun Kiang, Dr Azmi Shapie, Cheang Chee Gooi, Chuah Kooi Seng @ Chuah Kooi Yong, Kan Cheong Weng, Lethumanasamy Narayanasamy, Lim Chong Shyh, and SAC II Zuber Shariff. 

The Bintang Cemerlang Negri (BCN) will be awarded to 12 recipients, including Penevents chief executive officer Ong Ban Seang, and the Pingat Gagah Perwira (PGP) to C/Insp Ooi Say Bin and L/Kpl Sa'ya Ali. 

A total 192 people will receive the Pingat Kelakuan Terpuji (PKT), 487 the Pingat Jasa Kebaktian (PJK), and 505 the Pingat Jasa Masyarakat (PJM) while 36 will receive the Pingat Bakti Setia (PBS). 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Next In Nation

Delivery service using private vehicles allowed to continue, says Dr Wee
Melaka tourism players concerned over claims of undocumented migrants entering the state
Enough 1kg packets of cooking oil for consumers in Negri Sembilan, says state Domestic Trade Ministry director
Jobless man pleads not guilty to robbing lawyer
House break-in and car theft syndicate busted in Johor, three arrested
National Unity Minister Halimah Mohamed Sadique tests positive for Covid-19
Alleged rape of girl in Miri police lockup a wake-up call, says Bkt Assek rep
118 workers at Pasar Borong KL test positive for Covid-19
Azalina rejects request to hold special parliamentary session on Emergency
Umno, BN MPs to have virtual meeting on special parliamentary session

Stories You'll Enjoy