Fourth edition of badminton tournament gives press players a chance to shine

Star Media Group badminton team captain Nelsen (left0 shows the group that he would be in as Tournament founder Datuk Theng Book looks on at the sponsorship ceremony held at Showcase Cafe in TTDI, KL last Saturday.

A WHOPPING RM15,000 in total prize money is in the offering for the winners of the 4th Datuk Theng Book Cup Malaysia Media Badminton Tournament.

The event will be held at the T-Angle Badminton Hall in Puchong on Sunday.

Instead of just one category, the tournament this year will be divided into two categories – Media category and VIP and sponsors.

Tournament founder Datuk Theng Book, who was present at the recent sponsorship ceremony, said the move to include the media category was to allow them to mingle and bond.

He said representatives from the media were mostly busy with work and sometimes forget that they need to stay fit and active.

He pointed out that badminton is a sport that one can play to stay helathy.

“This tournament is currently the only multiracial badminton competition organised for the media.

“It has a multiracial group of participants with Chinese, Indians, Malays and others playing here.

“We hope to get more media representatives from the Indian press to join the competition.

“I am looking forward to seeing many media friends at the event,’’ he said.

Deputy Finance Minister Datuk Chua Tee Yong will launch the tournament.

The champion teams in the media section will win RM2,688 in cash, a trophy, medals and Fleet products while the runners-up will get RM2,088 in cash, a trophy, medals and Fleet products.

The third-placed team will receive RM1,588 in cash, a trophy, medals and Fleet products while fourth place winners will receive RM1,088 in cash.

For the VIP and sponsors category, the champion team will take home RM1,888, and second and third placed winners will get RM1,588 and RM1,388 respectively.

Each team will comprise 12 players, eight men and four women. Each team will field three men’s doubles, one women’s doubles and one mixed doubles.

In the Media category, Star Media Group Bhd (formerly known as Star Publications (M) Bhd), Sinchew Daily and ONFM are in Group A. Group B comprisess Astro, RTM, Nanyang/Life Mag and 8TV, while Group C are One Titan, NSTP, 988 and China Press.

In the VIP and sponsors category, ManagePay, Sports Toto and Ajiya are in Group A while MCA, Ebara and MPI Generali are in Group B.

The event hosted by One Titan Media, is sponsored by ManagePay Systems Berhad, Fleet, Ajiya Group, Ebara Pumps Malaysia, Malaysia Sports Toto, MPI Generali Insurans Berhad, TC Boy, Milo, GAB, 100 Plus, GoodMorning V plus, CNI, Showcase Cafe, Printing King, CAD Studio and W. Event Management.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Others Also Read