Brace yourself for less YouTube activity notifications – the video streaming platform has announced that after Jan 31, the feature that allows you to automatically share your YouTube Activity on Twitter will no longer be available.
Instead, the platform is urging users to share videos on social networks directly from YouTube via the Share button. Users will see an option to Share on social platforms right after a successful new video upload.
The platform allows users to share their YouTube activity via options on YouTube Settings > Connected apps > "Share your public activity to Twitter".
Types of YouTube activity include uploading a video, adding a video to a public playlist, liking a video and saving a playlist. Usually, users will see an automated Tweet such as "I liked @YouTube video" with a link to the content.
After Jan 31st, we're saying goodbye ?? to automated tweets like the one below.— Team YouTube (@TeamYouTube) January 10, 2019
You can still share your YouTube activity with your followers in more customized posts via the Share button. Full update ? https://t.co/NdASRj98KH pic.twitter.com/K6FuS5Urzm
The platform also stated that this new update will not affects items that have already been shared on Twitter prior to removal date. Those posted activities will remain on Twitter.
The platform believes that online sharing works better through more customised methods that takes advantage of social media features like @mentions.