Tenaga are MHL champs, end 21-year drought

Tenaga Nasional's Azrai Aizad Abu Kamal (second from right) scored six goals in a 22-1 win over JM Antbees at the Malaysian Hockey League match in Bukit Jalil on Feb 27. – MHC

PETALING JAYA: Tenaga Nasional have ended their 21-year drought by hammering JM Antbees 22-1 in their final Malaysian Hockey League (MHL) match at the National Hockey Stadium in Bukit Jalil on Tuesday (Feb 27).

National striker Azrai Aizad Abu Kamal scored six goals while South Korean penalty corner specialist Jang Jong-hyun hammered in five to help Tenaga achieve their biggest win in the MHL this year.

Tenaga's last league title triumph was in 2003 when their coach Norsaiful Zaini was still a player.

Last year's winner Terengganu finished second after beating Maybank 4-3 in Bukit Jalil.

Tenaga were level on 26 points with Terengganu but confirmed their title with a superior goal difference.

Tenaga had scored a total of 92 goals and conceded just 10 while Terengganu had scored 43 and let in 17 goals in 10 matches.

Follow us on our official WhatsApp channel for breaking news alerts and key updates!

Hockey , MHL , Tenaga Nasional , Champions


Next In Hockey

MHC to appoint four assistants to help Sarjit manage Young Tigers
Shello hopes to inspire more athletes from his state to excel in sports
Good friends stick together
Scottish experience will help to fast-track Syawal into a Speedy Tiger
Sarjit’s Nations Cup plans could leave Shello and Norsyafiq out of big indoor assignment
Nurinsafi lifeline keeps Shahrul’s dream of becoming national keeper alive
For sure, Sarjit can’t do without four veterans at Sultan Azlan Shah Cup
Rodhanizam wants Shello and Norsyafiq to be included in Asia Cup
Malaysia hoping to get the better of Indonesia at Asian indoor meet
Plans in pipeline to send youngsters for Euro pro circuit, says Sarjit

Others Also Read