SSTMI win inaugural Women's Junior Hockey League

  • Hockey
  • Sunday, 10 Apr 2016

PETALING JAYA: Tunku Mahkota Ismail Sports School (SSTMI) Thunderbolt lifted the inaugural Women’s Junior Hockey League title with a slim 2-1 win over Kuala Lumpur Wipers in the final.

Nor Syakirah Quari converted the winning goal from a penalty corner set-piece in the 60th minute to enable SSTMI to take home the champion’s purse of RM15,000 at the National Hockey Stadium in Bukit Jalil.

Earlier Liyana Aqilah Sepawi had opened account for SSTMI with a field goal in the 18th minute before the City side drew level through Nurrobiatun Norhisham’s set-piece from a penalty corner in the 58th minute.

MSN/MSS Kedah took third spot when they defeated Sabah Sports School 4-2.

Roll of honour

Fairplay: SMK Tun Hussein Onn Sports School

Player of the tournament: Ellya Syahirah Ellias (SSTMI)

Best goalkeeper: Aina Nadiah Fadzil (SSTMI)

Top scorer: Nur Afiqah Syahzani Azhar - 18 goals (MSN/MSS Kedah)

Best player in the final: Nor Syakirah Mohd Quari (SSTMI).