M'sian football fans handed MVP award

PETALING JAYA: The fans are the real MVPs!

Since the inception of the National Football Awards in 2009, players have been receiving the most valuable player (MVP) award, but this year, the Malaysian Football League (MFL) have awarded it to the fans, who have stood by Malaysian football even during the pandemic period.

The award was announced during the virtual award ceremony, which was aired on MFL’s Facebook page and YouTube channel on Wednesday (Dec 30).

According to MFL, the supporters have been following the development of the Malaysian League closely even though they are not allowed to enter the stadium due to the MCO since March.

They added that the number of Malaysian League views during the MCO became one of the factors why the Malaysian League supporters were selected as the MVP winners.

Johor Darul Ta’zim’s (JDT) Safawi Rasid was the MVP last year.

It was no surprise to see JDT dominating the awards as the Super League champions won five awards.

JDT won the best team award, while their coach Benjamin Mora bagged the best coach award, defender Aidil Zafuan Abdul Razak hoisting the best defender trophy, winger Safawi Rasid billed as the best midfielder, and goalkeeper Farizal Marlias adjudged to be the best goalkeeper in the country.

Former Perak striker Shahrel Fikri Md Fauzi was one of the biggest winners as the new Selangor signing bagged the best striker award and the top local goalscorer award with ten goals.

His teammate Ifedayo Olusegun won the Super League golden boot and also the overall golden boot. He scored 12 goals.

Selangor II player Danial Asri won the best local Premier League top scorer with seven goals, while Penang’s Casagrande won the Premier League golden boot, with nine goals.


Premier League local topscorer: Danial Asri (Selangor 2)

Best goalkeeper 2020: Farizal Marlias (JDT)

Premier League top scorer: Casagrande (Pulau Pinang)

Best defender 2020: Aidil Zafuan Abd. Radzak (JDT)

Super League local top scorer: Shahrel Fikri Fauzi (Perak)

Best midfielder 2020: Safawi Rasid (JDT)

Super League top scorer: Ifadeyo Omosuyi (Selangor)

Best striker 2020: Shahrel Fikri Fauzi (Perak)

Best coach 2020: Benjamin Mora (JDT)

Golden Boot 2020: Ifadeyo Omosuyi (Selangor)

Best team 2020: Johor Darul Ta’zim (JDT)

Special award (MVP): Malaysian League fans

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 18
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


86% readers found this article insightful

Next In Football

Brighton's Lamptey to return for West Brom trip - Potter
Liverpool's Henderson out until April after surgery
Leeds manager Bielsa hopes Villa have Grealish back
Zero to hero: Rangers' Patterson scores on return from COVID breach
Football stars Kroos, Upamecano appear in hard-hitting video against Internet hate
Ancelotti keen to be at Everton when new stadium opens
Pogba still out with thigh injury, says United boss Solskjaer
Leicester's Rodgers takes blame for Europa League exit
Pain to tiled art: Argentines honor soccer star Maradona with mosaics
Arteta relieved as Arsenal keep season alive

Stories You'll Enjoy