Lat conferred Seniman Diraja title

It’s an honour: Lat is recognised for his role and immense contribution in introducing Malaysia to the international stage and making the country famous. — Bernama

KUALA KANGSAR: Sultan of Perak Sultan Nazrin Muizzuddin Shah conferred the title of Seniman Diraja (Royal Artist) on the country’s famous cartoonist Datuk Mohd Nor Khalid, better known as Lat.

Sultan Nazrin bestowed the honour on Lat, 72, at the investiture ceremony for Perak state awards and medal recipients in conjunction with the 67th birthday celebration of His Royal Highness at Balairong Seri Istana Iskandariah here.

Also in attendance were Raja Permaisuri Perak Tuanku Zara Salim, Raja Muda Perak Raja Jaafar Raja Muda Musa and Raja Puan Besar Perak Raja Nazhatul Shima Sultan Idris Shah.

Present were Deputy Prime Minister Datuk Seri Dr Ahmad Zahid Hamidi and Perak Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Saarani Mohamad.

On July 8, when opening Galeri Rumah Lat in Batu Gajah, Sultan Nazrin announced the conferment of the Seniman Diraja title on Lat.

The honour was in recognition of the meaningful role and immense contribution of the great artist in introducing Malaysia to the international stage and making the country famous.

Perak Mufti Datuk Wan Zahidi Wan Teh led the list of 24 recipients of the state honours and medals in the first investiture session yesterday, which is part of the 238 recipients announced last Friday.

The second investiture session will be held on Nov 18.

Wan Zahidi, 81, who was appointed as Perak Mufti on Aug 1 last year, is the recipient of the state’s highest award, the Dato’ Seri Paduka Mahkota Perak (SPMP), which carries the title “Datuk Seri”.

Chief of Defence Forces General Tan Sri Mohammad Ab Rahman and Deputy Inspector-General of Police Datuk Seri Ayob Khan Mydin Pitchay were conferred the Dato’ Seri Panglima Taming Sari (SPTS) award, which carries the title “Datuk Seri Panglima”.

Perak State Finance Officer Mohd Zaki Mahyuddin was conferred the Darjah Dato’ Paduka Cura Si Manja Kini (DPCM) award, which carries the title “Datuk”, while a total of 14 recipients were awarded the Darjah Dato’ Paduka Mahkota Perak (DPMP) which also carries the title “Datuk”.

Among them were New Straits Times Press (Malaysia) Bhd group managing editor Datuk Ahmad Zaini Kamaruzzaman, Malaysian High Commissioner to India Muzafar Shah Mustafa, Perak women, family, social welfare and entrepreneurs development committee chairman and Temengor assemblyman Salbiah Mohamed and former deputy Health minister Dr Lee Boon Chye, who is also former MP for Gopeng. — Bernama

Follow us on our official WhatsApp channel for breaking news alerts and key updates!

Next In Nation

Installation ceremony showcases uniqueness of Malaysia's constitutional monarchy
Princess Ameerah of Brunei catches eye of Malaysians during King’s installation
Congratulatory messages flood social media in conjunction with King's installation
MyCert issues phishing and malware warning exploiting CrowdStrike incident
'Wayang pacak' allows Malaysians to experience grandeur of 17th King's installation ceremony
Initiatives to weather economic volatility to be implemented under 17th King's patronage, says Anwar
JPJ detains tour bus driver for testing positive for cannabis
Teenager drowns while swimming in Cyberjaya
Woman who claimed assault by actor boyfriend has withdrawn report, says police
Teacher loses RM135,150 to phone scam in Kuantan

Others Also Read