At least 112 MPs rejected Perikatan, no way PM has majority, claims Anwar

PETALING JAYA: There is no way Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin could possess the adequate Parliamentary majority to continue leading as Prime Minister, as at least 112 MPs had rejected the Perikatan Nasional government, claims Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim.

The Opposition leader said there were at least 104 Opposition MPs and eight Umno MPs who had retracted support for the Perikatan government.

"Isn't it true for us to say that Opposition parties have 104 MPs, and once you add it with the eight Umno MPs, that's 112.

"A majority of MPs have rejected the PM," he said during a Facebook Live session on Thursday (Aug 5).

Anwar cited the 2009 Perak Constitutional crisis, when three assemblymen from the now-defunct Pakatan Rakyat defected, causing the fall of the state government.

Then Perak mentri besar Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin requested to dissolve the state assembly and call for new elections, but it was refused by Sultan Azlan Shah.

Barisan Nasional, along with the support of the three defecting assemblymen, then formed the new state government.

"It was ruled that the Sultan has absolute powers in this matter. It cannot be disputed when the Yang di-Pertuan Agong or the Sultan is confident that someone possesses the majority."

Anwar said similar events took place in Kedah last year when the Pakatan Harapan and Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia led state government collapsed after 23 out of 36 assemblymen lost confidence in Datuk Seri Mukhriz Mahathir to continue leading as mentri besar.

"A new MB was then appointed. This cannot be disputed," said Anwar, referring to the appointment of PAS' Jeneri assemblymen Muhammad Sanusi Md Nor as Mentri Besar.

Anwar said it is clear that the Perikatan government has fallen and a country cannot be led by a leader whose legitimacy to lead is being publicly disputed.

"Otherwise, it will spook foreign investors," he added.

At present, there are 220 MPs in the 222-seat Dewan Rakyat following the deaths of former Batu Sapi MP Datuk Liew Vui Keong and former Gerik MP Datuk Hasbullah Osman.

Pakatan Harapan consists of PKR's 35 MPs, followed by DAP (42) and Amanah (11).

Other Opposition parties include Parti Pejuang Tanah Air’s four MPs, the unregistered Malaysian United Democratic Alliance (one), eight MPs from Parti Warisan Sabah, one independent Simpang Renggam MP Dr Maszlee Malik, and Parti Sarawak Bersatu (two).

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 46
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Anwar Ibrahim , Muhyiddin Yassin , Perikatan , Umno


Next In Nation

Eleven arrested for allegedly trespassing into forest reserve in Perak
Former bank relationship manager charged with CBT for buying gold bars without customer's knowledge
Sarawak's southern zone moving into Phase Three of NRP on Friday (Oct 1)
PM kept his word with focus on Sabah under 12MP, says Hajiji
Farm workers released on charge of harbouring smuggled migrants
Sabah's Covid-19 daily cases dip to 751
Teacher cheated of over RM50,000 after revealing banking details
Nine Vietnamese fishermen nabbed for harvesting sea cucumbers in M’sian waters
Soldier slapped with 23 years' jail, 15 lashes for raping teen daughter
Sarawak Governor's 85th birthday celebrations to be held from Oct 8-10

Stories You'll Enjoy