Philippines extends travel ban on 10 countries to Aug 15

Philippine President Rodrigo Duterte. - REUTERS

MANILA (Bernama): The Philippines has extended the travel ban for all inbound travelers from Malaysia and nine other countries to Aug 15 to prevent the spread of the Covid-19 Delta variant.

Apart from Malaysia, the Philippines has banned travelers from India, Thailand, Indonesia, Pakistan, Nepal, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Oman and the United Arab Emirates.

Xinhua reported on Friday (July 30) that presidential spokesperson Harry Roque said that President Rodrigo Duterte approved the travel ban extension to curb the spread of Covid-19 variants in the Philippines.

He added that the Philippines will still allow the return of overseas Filipino workers under its repatriation programme, but they have to be isolated for 14 days upon arrival. the country's tally to 216. At least eight Delta patients have died.

The Philippines has reported a total of 1,572,287 Covid-19 cases as of Thursday (July 29) and 27,577 deaths.

Out of all the cases, 216 are due to the Delta variant. - Bernama

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 46
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

Muhyiddin: Bersatu will only work with other parties under Perikatan in GE15
Sabah STAR open to cooperation with any party, says Kitingan
Big challenge to find bumi businessmen willing to take up 51% equity, say freight forwarders’ associations
MCA: 51% bumi equity for freight forwarders against country's goals of creating pro-business environment
Dr Wee: Malaysia seeks to bolster cooperation with China to boost logistics sectors
PM hints of interstate travel within a few weeks
Federal Govt urged to push for reopening of border with Singapore
Construction worker killed after row with friend
Cops to come down hard on those flouting Home Surveillance Orders
Vaccination rate for university students at 73%, staff at 91%

Stories You'll Enjoy