12 MPs appointed to Parliament's Public Accounts Committee

  • Nation
  • Tuesday, 03 Nov 2020

KUALA LUMPUR: Twelve MPs have been appointed as members of the Parliament's Public Accounts Committee (PAC), says Dewan Rakyat Speaker Datuk Azhar Azizan Harun.

Azhar announced that the new members are Datuk Mohd Fasiah Mohd Fakeh (Bersatu-Sabak Bernam), Yamani Hafez Musa (Bersatu-Sipitang), Datuk Seri Ahmad Maslan (BN-Pontian), Tan Sri Noh Omar (BN-Tanjong Karang), Datuk Jalaluddin Alias (BN-Jelebu), Lukanisman Awang Sauni (GPS-Sibuti), Ahmad Fadhli Shaari (PAS-Pasir Mas), Ahmad Tarmizi Sulaiman (PAS-Sik), Nurul Izzah Anwar (PH-Permatang Pauh), Datuk Dr Mohd Hatta Md Ramli (PH-Lumut), Wong Shu Qi (PH-Kluang) and Ahmad Hassan (Warisan-Papar).

The PAC will be chaired by Wong Kah Woh (PH-Ipoh Timur) and his deputy chairman would be Datuk Azizah Mohd Dun (Bersatu-Beaufort).

"Both Wong and Azizah were appointed on Aug 27," said Azhar in a statement.

Wong, who was previously the PAC deputy chairman took over the role which fell vacant, following the resignation of Parit Sulong MP Datuk Dr Noraini Ahmad.

Noraini was appointed as the Higher Education Minister in the Perikatan Nasional government in early March.

On Oct 29, Wong had urged Azhar to appoint PAC members soon to make up for the lost time after being "paralysed" since March.

Wong said PAC meetings have been put on hold since February as other members of the committee were yet to be appointed.
Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

Covid-19: Health Ministry considering revising fully-vaccinated status for certain groups
PM: RM73.5mil for micro financing programme, night market transformation
Abang Jo: GPS to announce manifesto on Wednesday (Dec 8)
Sarawak polls: Honoured to defend Satok, but big shoes to fill, says Ibrahim Baki
Ismail Sabri: Govt will continue ensuring well-being of those with disabilities
MetMalaysia: Continuous heavy rain in Kelantan, Terengganu until Saturday (Dec 4)
Sabah civil servants to receive half-month bonus
Sarawak polls: For the first time since 1981, Abang Jo will not contest in Satok
Sabah announces RM4.596bil surplus budget for 2022
JE outbreak: 11 Culex mosquito breeding areas found in Kota Setar district

Others Also Read