Melaka bestows awards and medals on 190 on 71st birthday of governor

MELAKA: Kuala Lumpur High Court judge Datuk Seri Mohd Firuz Jafril is among 190 recipients of state awards and medals in conjunction with the 71st birthday of Melaka Yang di-Pertua Negeri Tun Dr Mohd Ali Rustam.

Firuz was bestowed the Darjah Gemilang Seri Melaka (DGSM), which carries the title “Datuk Seri”, on Saturday (Oct 10) – the first of the three-day investiture ceremony.

Ali, who is celebrating his official birthday for the first time following his appointment as the Yang di-Pertua Negeri in June, also awarded the DGSM to Senior Minister (Security) Datuk Seri Ismail Sabri Yaakob and Higher Education Minister Datuk Noraini Ahmad.

However, both ministers were unable to attend because they are currently undergoing quarantine.

Four individuals are awarded the Darjah Cemerlang Seri Melaka (DCSM), which carries the title “Datuk Wira”.

Three of them – Melaka police chief Deputy Comm Datuk Mat Kasim Karim, political secretary to the Chief Minister Datuk Sazali Muhd Din @ Muhamad Din, and Football Association of Malaysia president Datuk Hamidin Mohd Amin – received their awards Saturday.

Seven individuals received the Darjah Mulia Seri Melaka (DMSM), which carries the title “Datuk”.

They were Works Ministry secretary-general Datuk Dr Syed Omar Sharifuddin Syed Ikhsan, Plantation Industries and Commodities Ministry secretary-general Ravi Muthayah, state health and anti-drug committee chairman Rahmad Mariman, Prime Minister’s Department Economic Planning Unit director-general Datuk Saiful Anuar Lebai Hussen, Melaka health director Dr Ismail Ali, senior private secretary to the Chief Minister Abd Kadir Md Idris and religious adviser to the Chief Minister Kamarudin Sidek.

Among the 29 who were awarded the Darjah Pangkuan Seri Melaka (DPSM), which also carries the title “Datuk”, was Asean Informa Markets founder and honorary chairman Datuk Dr Muthiah Gandhi, who is the organiser of the Malaysian International Furniture Fair and many other exhibitions; Hang Tuah Jaya Municipal Council president Shadan Othman; and ATA IMS executive director and chief operating officer G. Balachandran.

The ceremony also saw the Darjah Seri Melaka being conferred on eight individuals, Bintang Cemerlang Melaka (22), Bintang Khidmat Terpuji (36), Pingat Jasa Kebaktian (45), Pingat Bakti Masyarakat (30) and Pingat Khidmat Lama (two).

Among those who received the Pingat Bakti Masyarakat was Tanjung Minyak Kwong Fook Association deputy president Denny Long Wei Siong.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 46
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Melaka , Awards , Datuk


Next In Nation

Johor exco Mazlan Bujang to not contest state seat if polls called
Covid-19: Two schools temporarily closed after 69 students test positive
No disruption in govt delivery system if Johor polls are held, says MB
Floods: Govt expresses grief over natural disaster, says PM
Art Harun turns down Opposition MPs' attempts to debate Azam Baki shares issue in Parliament
Police call for witnesses of SS14 road accident to come forward
Two dead, six missing after boat capsizes near Teluk Ramunia, Johor
Dec 18 floods: I was on the ground since day one, says Ismail Sabri
Jesselton Quay Central set to transform Kota Kinabalu City landscape
MyCC monitoring RFID implementation to ensure consumers' best interest, says CEO

Others Also Read