Bersatu nominates Muhyiddin as 8th PM

  • Nation
  • Friday, 28 Feb 2020

PETALING JAYA: Thirty-six Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia MPs have decided to nominate Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin as the next Prime Minister.

In a statement on Friday (Feb 28), Bersatu secretary-general Datuk Marzuki Yahaya said that Bersatu MPs have agreed to propose Muhyiddin, who is Pagoh MP, as the eighth premier to the Yang di-Pertuan Agong following a party meeting.

This is a departure from Bersatu's previous stance that interim Prime Minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad continues to be the Prime Minister.

The 36 included 10 former PKR MPs who defected to Bersatu during the political upheaval, which climaxed in the resignation of Dr Mahathir and caused the collapse of the Pakatan Harapan government.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Nation

BN supreme council: Six parties keen to join coalition
Cops arrest man suspected of uprooting gravestones at Sibu cemetery
Selangor Immigration introduces MyOnline Passport kiosk at UTC
Kuala Perlis folk surprised over presence of ‘spaceship’
Nine stranded on faulty boat off Semporna rescued
BN leaders gather for supreme council meeting, GE15 top on agenda
Decision on chicken export ban, new ceiling price after review of data, says Annuar Musa
KL Tower, DBKL Tower 1 lit up to mark India’s 75th Independence Day
Task force mulls extending Malaysian Family cheap sales to institutions of higher learning
Warisan’s Shafie, Leiking retain posts

Others Also Read