Parliament Caucus on Monitoring Lynas on hold

  • Nation
  • Tuesday, 04 Dec 2018

Lynas, which is facing a sharp slump in rare earths prices, has replaced its CEO Eric Noyrez and says it expects to finally reach its targeted rate of 11,000 tonnes a year by the end of June.

KUALA LUMPUR: The proposed setting-up of Parliament's Caucus on Monitoring Lynas has been put on hold. 

"The setting-up of the Caucus on Monitoring Lynas needs to be studied further for it to be considered in the next Parliament meeting as there are other caucuses that have yet to be finalised," the Parliament Select Committee Special Statement stated when tabled in Parliament today. (Dec 4).

The Committee also informed the House that a 12-member bi-partisan Caucus on Reforms and Governance was set up. 

The caucus is to be chaired by Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim (PKR-Port Dickson) with Lim Kit Siang (DAP-Iskandar Puteri) as its deputy. 

Other members included Hanipa Maidin (Amanah-Sepang), Datuk Seri Mustapa Mohamed (Bersatu-Jeli), Datuk Johari Abdul (PKR-Sungai Petani), Datuk Seri Dr Edmund Santhara (PKR-Segamat) and Maria Chin Abdullah (PKR-Petaling Jaya) and Ma'mun Sulaiman (Warisan-Kalabakan). 

Also appointed to caucus were Datuk Seri Azalina Othman Said (Umno-Pengerang), Datuk Seri Nazri Aziz (Umno-Padang Rengas), Datuk Seri Dr Wan Junaidi Tuanku Jaafar (GPS-Santubong) and Datuk Tuan Ibrahim Tuan Man (PAS-Kubang Kerian). 

Meanwhile, Public Accounts Committee (PAC) saw three members were replaced. 

The outgoing PAC members are Akmal Nasrullah Mohd Nasir (PKR-Johor Bahru) who is being replaced by Nurul Izzah Anwar (PKR-Permatang Pauh).

Willie Mongin (PKR-Puncak Borneo) was replaced by William Leong (PKR-Selayang) while Datuk Seri Dr Noraini Ahmad replaced Datuk Seri Hasan Arifin (Umno-Rompin). 

The PAC is currently headed by Datuk Seri Ronald Kiandee(Umno-Beluran).

Other members include Wong Chen (PKR-Subang), Steven Choong (DAP-Tebrau), Hasanuddin Mohd Yunus (PKR-Hulu Langat), Wong Hon Wai (DAP-Bukit Bendera) and Wong Shu Qi (DAP-Kluang).

Also sitting on the bi-partisan committee are Datuk Seri Ahmad Hamzah (Umno-Jasin), Datuk Takiyuddin Hassan (PAS-Kota Bharu) and Robert Lawson Chuat (GPS-Betong)..

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Next In Nation

Proposal to be submitted to NSC to allow 4,000 fans at football stadiums, says Reezal
Ministry investigating claims of black patches of water in Sg Kim Kim, Johor
Seventy-nine summonses issued in police ops against those who modified motor exhausts
Cause of dead fish in Sg Kulim due to low oxygen level
Families urged to follow Covid-19 SOP during Qing Ming
Singapore to offer Covid-19 vaccination to drivers of vehicles delivering essential goods
Wee: Women are equal partners in country's socio-economic development
Anwar: Pakatan parties starting GE15 seat negotiations
MTCC debuts at virtual B2B furniture fair – MIFF Furniverse 2021
Hostel for workers in Cameron Highlands under probe for failing to provide amenities

Stories You'll Enjoy