New Cabinet: Dr M only names three ministers, Guan Eng gets Finance (updated)

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 12 May 2018

PETALING JAYA: Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad has unveiled only three leaders out of the 10 core ministries in his streamlined administration.

The newly-minted Prime Minister announced Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia president Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin as the Home Minister, while DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng will helm the Finance Ministry and Parti Amanah Negara president Mohamad Sabu will take on the Defence Ministry.

The other seven ministers that have yet to be named are Economy, Education, Multimedia Science and Technology; Rural Development, Public Works, Transport and Foreign.

Dr Mahathir also said that they would be setting up a “council of elders”.

This will consist of former Finance Minister Tun Daim Zainuddin, former Bank Negara Governor Tan Sri Zeti Aziz, former Petronas CEO Tan Sri Hassan Marican, Hong Kong-based Malaysian tycoon Robert Kuok, and economics expert Prof Jomo Kwame Sundaram.

He made the announcement during a press conference that was delayed for almost three and a half hours.

Dr Mahathir, who is Pakatan Harapan chairman, announced on Friday (May 11) that the Government would only have a “small Cabinet” comprising important ministries only.

Watch the live feed here:


Across The Star Online

Air Pollutant Index

Highest API Readings

    Select State and Location to view the latest API reading

    Source: Department of Environment, Malaysia