DAP names Yeo Bee Yin as candidate for Bakri seat

MUAR: DAP has named Yeo Bee Yin as the Pakatan Harapan candidate for the Bakri parliamentary seat in Johor for the general election.

DAP secretary-general Lim Guan Eng said that Yeo replaces two-term incumbent Er Teck Hwa.

The announcement was made at a Pakatan gathering held at the DAP Bakri community centre on Saturday.

At the same event, Lim also announced DAP's organising secretary Won Yi Hao as the Bentayan state seat candidate.

Currently the seat is helmed by Chua Wee Beng.

"I am touched by the spirit of sacrifices made here by Johoreans so that the movement can move forward," he said in reference to the willingness of Er and Chua to make way for Yeo and Won respectively.

He noted the move by Yeo to Bakri follows a move by Johor DAP chief Liew Chin Tong to contest in Ayer Hitam.

Liew will face off against incumbent Datuk Seri Dr Wee Ka Siong, who is also MCA deputy president.

GE14 , Politics , GE14 , Yeo Bee Yin