CJ Arifin Zakaria receives Sabah's highest award

KOTA KINABALU: Chief Justice Tun Ariffin Zakaria leads recipients of this year's state awards in conjunction with the Sabah Yang DiPertua Negeri Tun Juhar Mahiruddin's  62nd birthday celebrations on Saturday.

Ariffin is among four recipients of the Seri Panglima Darjah Kinabalu (SPDK) award that carries the title Datuk Seri Panglima.

Others are Deputy Chief Minister Datuk Raymond Tan, Science, Technology and Innovation Minister Datuk Wilfred Tangau and Pantai Manis assemblyman Datuk Rahim Ismail.

Another 48 are recipients of the Panglima Gemilang Darjah Kinabalu (PGDK) award carrying the title Datuk.

Among them are state Assistant Minister Ghulamhaidar Khan as well as botanist Anthony Lamb who was instrumental in the setting up of the renowned Tenom Agriculture Park.

Others include Dr Heng Aik Cheng who is known for his voluntary contributions in Mercy Malaysia.

Eleven individuals received the Justices of the Peace (JP), including Communications and Multimedia Minister Datuk Salleh Said Keruak and Sabah Customs Department director Dr Janathan Kandok and pharmacist and activist Nancy Ho.

Another 70 individuals are recipients of the Ahli Setia Darjah Kinabalu (ASDK) award including University Sabah Malaysia geologist Dr Felix Tongkul and Sabah based TV3 journalist Elphege Godomon.

The Bintang Setia Kinabalu (BSK) award was presented to  138 individuals while 268 were named as Bintang Kinabalu recipients.