Abu Zahar sworn in as Senate president

  • Nation Premium
  • Monday, 26 Apr 2010

PETALING JAYA: Tan Sri Abu Zahar Ujang, the former president of the Council of Former Elected Representatives (Mubarak), was sworn in as the 16th Dewan Negara president.

He replaces Datuk Wong Foon Meng, the former MCA secretary-general, who stepped down as Senate president on April 12 after serving two terms.

Article type: metered
User access status: 3
Join our Telegram channel to get our Evening Alerts and breaking news highlights

Next In Nation

Local vessel seized for fishing in prohibited zone off Penang Premium
Perikatan mulls possibility of working with PH to avoid clashes in GE15, says Muhyiddin Premium
High tide phenomenon: Six bunds collapsed, affecting 30 homes in Perak Premium
Enact political funding law before GE15, say NGOs Premium
Kudat the 'Bali of Borneo' has great potential for rural tourism Premium
Khairy to head Malaysian delegation at WHA75 in Geneva Premium
Shipping license requirement does not hinder undersea cable projects, says Dr Wee Premium
Shah Alam student dies in motorcycle crash Premium
More new faces to be fielded in GE15, says Loke Premium
Anti-Drug Agency to add 110 officers to Mobile Recovery Treatment teams Premium

Others Also Read