Negri Ruler heads Kedah Sultan’s birthday honours list

  • Nation
  • Sunday, 17 Jan 2010

ALOR SETAR: The Yang Dipertuan Besar of Negeri Sembilan, Tuanku Muhriz Tuanku Munawir, heads the list of 72 people conferred awards and medals in conjunction with the 82nd birthday of the Sultan of Kedah, Tuanku Abdul Halim Mu’adzam Shah today.

Tuanku Muhriz, installed as the 11th Yang Dipertuan Besar of Negeri Sembilan on Dec 29, 2008, has been bestowed the Darjah Kerabat (DK).

The investiture will take place at the Istana Anak Bukit.

Former Kedah Mentri Besar Tan Sri Osman Aroff is conferred the Darjah Seri Setia Sultan Abdul Halim Mua’adzam Shah Yang Amat Dihormati (SHMS), which carries the title “Datuk Seri DiRaja”.

Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Jamil Khir Baharom and a former state secretary of Kedah, Datuk Seri Paduka Shaari Mohd Daud, receive the Seri Setia DiRaja Kedah (SSDK), which carries the title “Datuk Seri”.

Two people have been made the “Orang Besar Enam Belas” – with the “Datuk Lela Bakti” bestowed on Datuk Tunku Hamdy Tunku Ahmad Tajudin and the title “Datuk Lela Pahlawan” conferred on Datuk Wira Ku Nahar Ku Ibrahim.

Ten were bestowed with the Darjah Gemilang Seri Mahkota Kedah (DGMK), which carries the title “Datuk Wira”.

Among them are Malaysia’s High Commissioner to London Datuk Abdul Aziz Mohamed; Joint Forces Commander Lt Gen Datuk Allatif Mohamed Noor; Kedah Chief Police Officer Datuk Syed Ismail Syed Azizan, Kedah Malay Chamber of Commerce President Datuk Zainol Abidin Abdul Hamid; and Sultanah Bahiyah Hospital Senior Consul-tant Specia­list Datuk Dr L. Ramachandran.

Four people received the Datuk Paduka Mahkota Kedah (DPMK), which carries the title “Datuk”.

They are Army Field Commander Lt Gen Datuk Ahmad Hasbullah Mohd Nawawi; Deputy Chief of Air Force Lt Gen Datuk Shahron Ibrahim; Mybiz Tech Sdn Bhd Executive Director Lt Gen (Rtd) Datuk Seri Abdul Manap Ibrahim and Assistant Chief of Staff (Personnel Services) of Malaysian Armed Forces Maj Jen Datuk Abdul Aziz Ibrahim.

Forty-one people are bestowed the Datuk Setia Diraja Kedah (DSDK), which carries the title “Datuk”.

They include High Court Judge Datuk Mohd Sofian Abdul Razak; Judicial Commissioner Has Zanah Mehat; Pendang Member of Parliament Dr Mohd Hayati Othman; Merbok member of Parliament Datuk Rashid Din as well as Rural and Regional Development Ministry deputy secretary-general (socio-economy) Datuk Yusoff Dohab.

Eleven people have been appointed Justices of the Peace. Among them are Kedah Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Azizan Abdul Razak; principal private secretary to the Sultan, Datuk Syed Unan Mashri Syed Abdullah; Dr A. Sithasanan; Lee Thak Soon and Koh Kim Chew.

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Next In Nation

Works Ministry: Report on scaffolding collapse at DASH construction site ordered
PM Muhyiddin extends Father's Day greetings
Chai Leng Park market in Prai closed after 11 Covid-19 cases discovered
Johor Umno Youth has handed over GE15 candidate list to state party chief
National Recovery Plan on schedule with more vaccines coming in, says PM
PKR approves motion to to extend office-bearers till next party election no later than May 2023
Covid-19: 5,293 new infections reported Sunday, Selangor still at top with 1,680 cases
Education Minister: Committee to investigate 'period spot checks' in schools almost ready
Armed Forces implements integrated pilot project to further tighten border security
Dr Wee: Being a father has its challenges, but will always be a blessing

Stories You'll Enjoy