1,114 to receive Pahang honours

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 24 Oct 2009

KUANTAN: Three ministers and a deputy minister are among 1,144 recipients to be conferred awards in conjunction with the 79th birthday of the Sultan of Pahang Sultan Ahmad Shah today.

They are Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Mohamed Nazri Abdul Aziz, Energy, Green Technology and Water Minister Datuk Peter Chin Fah Kui, Foreign Minister Datuk Anifah Aman – who are conferred the Sri Sultan Ahmad Shah Pahang (SSAP) that carries the title Datuk Seri.

Deputy Higher Education Minister Datuk Saifuddin Abdullah will be bestowed the Darjah Sultan Ahmad Shah Pahang (DSAP).

Also in the SSAP list are Ranhill chairman Tan Sri Sallehuddin Moh­amed, Permodalan Nasional Berhad president Tan Sri Hamad Kama Piah Che Ot­hman, Lim Kok Wing Uni­versity founder Tan Sri Lim Kok Wi­n­g and Putrana Oil Refinery Sdn Bhd executive chairman Mohammad Saraei Fa­r­idoun.

The other SSAP recipients are Transport Ministry secretary-general Datuk Zakaria Bahari, Defence Ministry secretary-general Datuk Abu Bakar Abdullah, Malaysia Royal Customs director-general Datuk Ibrahim Jaapar, Royal Malaysian Air Force chief Jen Datuk Rodzali Daud, Football Association of Malaysia (FAM) deputy president Datuk Redzuan Tan Sri Sheikh Ahmad, prominent lawyer Datuk Muh­ammad Shafee Abdullah and banker Datuk Lee Kong Lam.

Thirteen individuals are to be bestowed the SSAP, seven the Sri Indera Mahkota Pahang (SIMP), 17 the DSAP and 105 the Darjah Indera Mahkota Pahang (DIMP). The SIMP, DSAP and DIMP awards carry the title Datuk.

Family members of the Pahang Royal House are among this year’s recipients, including Cik Puan Bendahara Pahang Datuk Habibah Datuk Yusoff and Cik Puan Tengah Datin Sri Rohaya Datuk Abdul Rahim to be bestowed with the SIMP and Tengku Nurul Kamalia Tengku Besar Pahang Tengku Kamil Ismail will receive the DSAP. The wife of Home Minister Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein, Datin Seri Tengku Marsilla Tengku Abdullah, is among those conferred the SIMP.

Other recipients of DSAP will include High Court Judge Datuk Suraya Othman, Institute of Strategic and International Studies (ISIS) dir­ector-general Dr Mahani Zainal Abi­din, Prison Department director-general Datuk Zulkifli Omar, state education director Datuk Abdul Aziz Abdul Latiff, FAM secretary-general Datuk Azzuddin Ahmad and Attorney-General’s prosecution department head Tun Abd Majid Tun Hamzah.

Sessions Court judge Akhtar Tahir heads the DIMP list comprising, among others, Suasa Efektif (M) Sdn Bhd executive director Tengku Taha Alfashini Tengku Abdul Murad Shah, Padang Tengku assemblyman Abdul Rahman Mohammad, Mentakab assemblyman Chuah Boon Seong, Tioman assemblyman Mohd Johari Hussain, Kerdau assemblyman Za­h­aruddin Abu Kassim and Kuantan Wanita Umno chief Senator Zaitun Mat.

Also in the list are AirAsia Berhad director Fam Lee Ee, state Anti-Corruption Commission director Sutinah Sutan, state accountant Shaharun Ismail, state social welfare director Shamsiah Hussin, state deputy police chief Datuk Sharifudin Abdul Ghani, state special branch chief SAC II Riduan Hashim and former bodybuilder turned businessman Abdul Malek Md Noor.

Those in the entertainment industry to be conferred DIMP inc­luded Baharuddin Omar, known for his ‘Anjang Aki’ dramas and Karyawan president Frederick John Fernandez.

The Star’s news editor Lourdes Joseph Charles and Measat Broadcasting Network System Sdn Bhd CEO Rohana Rozhan both received the DIMP.

A total of 22 people will be conferred the Setia Ahmad Shah Pahang (SAP), 79 the Setia Mahkota Pahang (SMP), 69 the Ahli Ahmad Shah Pahang (AAP), 143 the Ahli Mahkota Pahang (AMP), 134 the Pingat Khidmat Cemerlang (PKC), 120 the Pingat Kelakuan Terpuji (PKT) and 435 the Pingat Jasa Kebaktian (PJK).

The investiture ceremony is held in Istana Abu Bakar in Pekan, today.

Nation , News