Pandikar Amin heads FT Day awards, 282 conferred

  • Nation
  • Monday, 2 Feb 2009

KUALA LUMPUR: Dewan Rakyat Speaker Tan Sri Pandikar Amin Mulia headed the list of 282 people conferred with awards and medals in conjunction with Federal Territories Day yesterday.

Pandikar Amin received the Seri Utama Mahkota Wilayah (SUMW) award, which carries the title “Datuk Seri Utama”.

Other SUMW recipients are Bank Negara governor Tan Sri Zeti Akhtar Aziz and Petronas chairman Tan Sri Mohd Hassan Marican.

Yang di-Pertuan Agong Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin will grace the investiture ceremony at Balairong Seri, Istana Negara, here today.

Twelve people received the Seri Mahkota Wilayah (SMW) which carries the title “Datuk Seri”.

Among them are Malaysian National News Agency (Bernama) editorial adviser Datuk Azman Ujang and Star Publications (M) Bhd group chief editor Datuk Wong Chun Wai.

Other SMW recipients are Public Services Department director-general Tan Sri Ismail Adam, Education Ministry secretary-general Tan Sri Zulkurnain Awang, National Institute of Occupational Safety and Health chairman Tan Sri Lee Lam Thye, Bank Simpanan Nasional chairman Datuk Seri Abdul Azim Mohd Zabidi and Criminal Investigation Department director Datuk Mohd Bakri Mohd Zinin.

Federal Territory MCA chairman and former deputy home minister, Datuk Tan Chai Ho and former Kuala Lumpur mayor Datuk Ab Hakim Borhan also received the SMW.

A total of 28 individuals received the Panglima Mahkota Wilayah (PMW) which carries the title “Datuk”.

Among them are Cheras Umno division chief Senator Datuk Wira Syed Ali Alhabshee, St John’s Institution former brother director (principal) Brother Lawrence Spitzig, Utusan Melayu editor-in-chief Abdul Aziz Ishak, National Heart Institute consultant cardiologist Dr Aizai Azan Abdul Rahim and cardiologist Dr Sanjiv Joshi, and Bernama editor-in-chief Yong Soo Heong.

There are 28 recipients for the Johan Mahkota Wilayah (JMW) including the police Deputy Principal Assistant Director SAC II Haris Wong Abdullah and Group Creative Consultant of Astro Entertainment Aznil Nawawi.

Fifty-nine others received the Kesatria Mahkota Wilayah (KMW), 71 the Ahli Mahkota Wilayah (AMW) and 81 the Pingat Pangkuan Mahkota Wilayah (PPW). — Bernama

Nation , News