Chief Sec Sidek heads King’s honours list

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 2 Jun 2007

KUALA LUMPUR: Chief Secretary to the Government Tan Sri Mohd Sidek Hassan heads the list of 2,309 recipients of awards, decorations and medals in conjunction with the birthday of the Yang di-Pertuan Agong Tuanku Mizan Zainal Abidin today. 

He receives the Panglima Mangku Negara (PMN) which carries the title “Tan Sri”. 

Also receiving the PMN are Islamic Development Bank (IDB) president Dr Ahmad Mohamed Ali AlMadani, Chief of Defence Forces Jen Tan Sri Abdul Aziz Zainal and Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Musa Hassan. 

Thirty-eight people receive the Panglima Setia Mahkota (PSM), which also carries the title “Tan Sri”.  

They include former National Unity and Social Development Minister Datuk Napsiah Omar, former Information Minister Datuk Seri Panglima Abdul Kadir Sheikh Fadzir, former Wanita MCA chief Datin Paduka Rosemary Chong @ Chow Poh Kheng, Indian Progressive Front president Datuk M.G. Pandithan and actor and film director Datuk Jins Samsudin.  

The other recipients include Chief Judge of Sabah and Sarawak Datuk Seri Panglima Richard Malanjum, Chief of Navy Datuk Ramlan Mohamed Ali; 

Chief of Army Jen Datuk Muhammad Ismail Jamaluddin, Chief of Air Force Jen Datuk Seri Azizan Ariffin, Education Ministry secretary-general Datuk Dr Zulkurnain Awang; 

Foreign Ministry secretary-general Datuk Rastam Mohd Isa and Deputy Inspector-General of Police Datuk Mohd Najib Abdul Aziz. 

Corporate leaders who receive the PSM are Mangium Industries Bhd president Datuk Robert Phang Miow Sin, Datuk Mohd Ariffin Mohd Yusuf of Primabumi Sdn Bhd; 

Concorde Hotel & Resorts Sdn Bhd chairman Datuk Syed Mohd Yusof Syed Nasir, Glomac Berhad group executive chairman Datuk Mohamed Mansor Fateh Din, Top Glove Group executive chairman Datuk Seri Lim Wee Chai; 

Former vice-chancellor of Wawasan Open University Datuk Prof Emeritus Dr Gajaraj Dhanarajan, NasionCom Holdings Berhad chairman Datuk Seri Mohamad Noor Abdul Rahim. 

Others include Federation of Chinese Associations of Malaysia president Datuk Seri Lim Gait Tong, former Chief of Navy Datuk K. Thanabalasingam, Royal Selangor International managing director Datuk Yong Poh Kon; 

Entrepreneur Datuk Paduka Chai Yu Lan, honorary consul in Portugal Datuk Eugenio Campos Antonio Da Luz Campos, Suhakam commissioner Datuk Asiah Abu Samah; 

Federation of Livestock Farmers' Association of Malaysia president and Leong Hup Holdings Bhd executive director Datuk Francis Lau Tuang Nguang, Malaysian Chinese Seven Clans Association president Datuk Tong Yoke Kim and Siemens Malaysia Sdn Bhd president/CEO Rainer Althoff. 

A total of 64 people receive the Panglima Jasa Negara (PJN) and two receive the Panglima Setia Di Raja (PSD). Both awards carry the title “Datuk”. 

Among them are former Star Publications (M) Bhd chairman Yong Ming Sang @ Yeoh Beng Sang, MAS managing director/ CEO Idris Jala and veteran comedian Abdul Azez Satta (Aziz Sattar).  

Constable Mohd Fakaruddin Zakaria, who was stabbed to death while attempting to catch a man during an anti-crime patrol in Semenyih, Selangor, in September last year, posthumously receives the Panglima Gagah Berani (PGB) award for valour. 

The other awards are Panglima Setia Di Raja (P.S.D.), Johan Mangku Negara (J.M.N.), Johan Setia Mahkota (J.S.M.), Johan Setia Di Raja (J.S.D.), Kesatria Mangku Negara (K.M.N.), Kesatria Setia Di Raja (K.S.D.), Ahli Mangku Negara (A.M.N.), Pingat Pangkuan Negara (P.P.N.), Bentara Setia Di Raja (B.S.D.), Panglima Gagah Berani (P.G.B.).  

Related Story:Save more for a better future, urges KingList of federal awards recipients in conjunction with the official birthday of the Yang Di-Pertuan Agong 

Star Special:The tides of change An avid horseman From Sultan to King