Chan, ex-IGP top award list

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 9 Sep 2006

KUCHING: Transport Minister Datuk Seri Chan Kong Choy and outgoing Inspector-General of Police Tan Sri Mohd Bakri Omar head a list of 615 people conferred state awards in conjunction with Sarawak Governor Tun Muhammad Salahuddin Abang Barieng’s birthday today. 

They are among six people who will receive the Panglima Negara Bintang Sarawak (PNBS), which carries the title Datuk Seri. 

The others are state financial secretary Datuk Ahmad Tarmizi Sulaiman, Second Minister of Planning and Resource Management Datuk Awang Tengah Ali Hasan, Social Development and Urbanisation Minister Datuk William Mawan and former Tourism Minister Datuk Dr Leo Michael Toyad. 

The three recipients of the Panglima Gemilang Bintang Kenyalang (PGBK) award, which carries the title Datuk, are Deputy State Secretary Mohamad Morshidi Abdul Ghani, Higher Education Management Department director-general Prof Datuk Dr Hassan Said and Universiti Malaysia Sarawak vice-chancellor Prof Abdul Rashid Abdullah. 

Three people receive the Darjah Jasa Bakti Sarawak (DJBS), which carries the title Datu. They are Sarawak Timber Industry Development Corp general manager Len Talif Salleh, state ministry of Agriculture Modernisation permanent secretary Jaul Samion and internal audit director in the Chief Minister’s Department William Lee Boon Tong. 

The Pingat Panglima Setia Bintang Sarawak (PSBS), which carries the title Datuk, is given to seven recipients. 

Among them are Mambong MP Dr James Dawos Mamit, Dallah Al Baraka Holdings Sdn Bhd chief executive Datuk Vaseehar Hassan Abdul Razack and Miri Chinese Chamber of Commerce and Industry chairman Sim Hock Guan.