Navy chief heads Perak awards list

  • Nation
  • Wednesday, 19 Apr 2006

IPOH: Navy chief Admiral Datuk Ilyas Din heads the list of 1,426 recipients of Perak state awards in conjunction with Sultan Azlan Shah’s 78th birthday today. 

Ilyas, 55, who was recently appointed Chief of the Royal Malaysian Navy, will receive the Darjah Seri Panglima Taming Sari (SPTS) at the Istana Iskandariah in Kuala Kangsar. 

Ilyas: Awarded the Darjah Seri Panglima Taming Sari (SPTS)

The Alor Star-born Ilyas is the sole recipient of the award, which carries the title “Datuk Seri”. 

Six others, including Penang Deputy Chief Minister Datuk Abdul Rashid Abdullah, Entrepreneurial and Cooperatives Development Minister Datuk Mohamed Khaled Nordin and Malaysian Nature Society president Datuk Dr Salleh Mohd Nor, will also receive titles of “Datuk Seri” by receiving the Darjah Seri Paduka Mahkota Perak (SPMP). 

A total of 53 people will receive the title of “Datuk”, which comes with the Darjah Paduka Cura Si Manja Kini (DPCM), Darjah Datuk Paduka Taming Sari (DPTS) and Darjah Datuk Paduka Mahkota Perak (DPMP). 

National Heart Institute cardiologist Datuk Dr Amin Ariff Nuruddin, Universiti Pendidikan Sultan Idris vice-chancellor Datuk Dr Muhammad Rais Abdul Karim and state legal advisor Datuk Engku Nor Faizah are among those who will receive the DPCM. 

State deputy police chief Senior Asst Comm I Abdul Razak Bokhari is among six recipients of the DPTS. 

Among the 44 recipients of the DPMP are state Road Transport Department director Abu Hasan Shaari, Ipoh Specialist Hospital neurosurgeon Dr Fadzli Abdullah, Perak Religious Department director Jamry Sury, National Sports Council director-general Dr Ramlan Abdul Aziz and state Forestry Department director Razani Ujang. 

Others to receive the DPMP are MCA Youth deputy chief Ling Hee Leong, Ipoh Hospital director Dr Ziaudin Ahmed Abdul Kareem and state Education Department Lt Kol Ir Mohammed Zakaria Mohd Nor and lawyer R. Rajasingam. 

Among 14 recipients of the Darjah Paduka Cura Si Manja Kini (PCM) are Manjung and Kuala Kangsar district officers, Abu Bakar Said and Ghazali Jalal, and Taiping Sessions Court judge Tarmizi Abdul Rahman. 

The Darjah Paduka Mahkota Perak (PMP) will go to 57 recipients this year, including Simpang Pulai assemblyman Chan Chin Chee, Mercy Malaysia chief operating officer Shareen Shariza Datuk Abdul Ghani, Hilir Perak OCPD Asst Comm Nor Hashim Mohamed Nor and Perak Fama director Hanzah Othman. 

State Forestry Department deputy director Ahmad Zainal Mat Isa, Marditech Corporation Sdn Bhd managing director Anas Ahmad Nasarudin, Police Air Unit (operations) deputy commander Chuah Ghee Lye, Grik OCPD Superintendent Mahad Nor Abdullah, state Narcotics chief Superintendent Mohd Hanafi Mohd Dahan and state Traffic chief Superintendent Wan Abdullah Ishak are among 20 recipients of the Darjah Ahli Cura Si Manja Kini (ACM). 

Perak’s top football striker Keita Mandjou from Guinea receives an Ahli Mahkota Perak (AMP) while international diver Leong Mun Yee and Commonwealth Games gold medallist lawn bowler Nor Iryani Azmi received the Pingat Pekerti Terpilih (PPT) in recognition of their contribution in the sports arena. 

In today’s ceremony, a total of 51 army personnel and 57 police personnel will receive awards.  

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3

Did you find this article insightful?


Across The Star Online