Seven Sarawak assistant ministers sworn in

  • Nation
  • Sunday, 04 Jul 2004

KUCHING: Seven newly-appointed state assistant ministers received their instruments of appointment and were sworn in before Yang di-Pertua Negri Tun Abang Muhammad Salahuddin at the Astana here on Friday afternoon. 

Of the seven, four are in the Chief Minister’s Department – Daud Abdul Rahman (Islamic Affairs), Mohd Naroden Majais (Bumiputra Entrepreneur Development), Larry Sng Wei Shien (Economic Planning) and Fatimah Abdullah (Human Resources and Training). 

The others are Lee Kim Shin (Assistant Minister for Infrastructure Development and Communication), Hamden Ahmad (Assistant Minister of Youth Affairs) and Sylvester Entri Muran (Assistant Minister for Water Supply). 

Also taking his oath of office was Datuk Awang Tengah Hasan, the sole assistant minister promoted to minister. He is Public Utilities Minister and Second Planning and Resource Management Minister.  

With the latest appointments announced by Chief Minister Tan Sri Abdul Taib Mahmud on Thursday, Sarawak now has nine ministers and 20 assistant ministers. 

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Nation

Suspect found removing CCTV at Tamarind Square identified
Tok Mat: BN bent on going solo in GE15
MIC hopes for winnable seats in GE15
Last group of haj pilgrims arrives home safely
Maha 2022 hits target of one million visitors, says PM
Fourth body from Redang boat tragedy found
Government to put LCS project back on track, says Hisham
Agricuture industry players told to stop using carbofuran, chlorpyrifos pesticides
Terengganu boat capsize tragedy: Body of another victim found
Govt studying calls to lift ban on chicken exports, says PM

Others Also Read