PM’s wife tops Malacca list

  • Nation
  • Saturday, 11 Oct 2003

MALACCA: Datin Seri Dr Siti Hasmah Mohd Ali, wife of the Prime Minister, heads the list of 783 recipients of state awards to be conferred in conjunction with Yang di-Pertua Negri Tun Syed Ahmad Shahabuddin Syed Mahmud’s 78th birthday today. 

She will be awarded the Darjah Utama Negri Melaka (DUNM), which carries the title Datuk Seri Utama. 

Receiving the Darjah Gemilang Seri Melaka (DGSM) are Perak Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Mohamad Tajol Rosli Ghazali and Sabah Chief Minister Datuk Musa Aman. The award carries the title Datuk Seri. 

There will be three recipients of the Darjah Cemerlang Seri Melaka (DCSM), which carries the title Datuk Wira. 

They are Human Resources Minister Datuk Dr Fong Chan Onn, Malacca State Assembly Speaker Datuk Amid Nordin, and Malacca State Mufti Datuk Rashid Redza Md Salleh. 

Another 46 people will be awarded the Darjah Mulia Seri Melaka (DMSM), which carries the title Datuk. 

Among them are Deputy Human Resources Minister Dr Abdul Latiff Ahmad, Deputy National Unity and Social Development Minister Dr Tiki Lafe, Commercial Vehicles Licensing Board chairman Datuk Raja Ahmad Zainuddin Raja Omar, Museums and Antiquities Department director-general Datuk Dr Adi Taha, Universiti Malaya deputy vice chancellor (academic) Prof Dr A. Hamid Hadi and Bernama executive editor Azman Ujang. 

Others include Malacca deputy police chief Senior Asst Comm Samsudin Sulaiman, Sungai Udang state assemblyman Abdul Karim Sulaiman, former Malacca Education Department director Baharom Kamari, Umno supreme council member Azimi Daim, Kelantan Umno deputy liaison chief Mohd Zaid Ibrahim and composer Ibrahim Bachek. 

Forty-eight people will receive the Darjah Seri Melaka (DSM). Among them are Melaka Tengah OCPD Asst Comm Mohamed Salim Abbas, Malacca Customs Department director Md Hassim Pardi and Malacca Museums Corporation general manager Dr Badriyah Salleh. 

A total of 27 people will also receive the Jaksa Pendamai (JP), 83 people the Bintang Cemerlang Melaka (BCM), 141 the Bintang Khidmat Terpuji (BKT), 284 the Pingat Jasa Kebaktian (PJK), 121 the Pingat Bakti Masyarakat (PBM) and 27 the Pingat Khidmat Lama (PKL). 

Besides Azman, other journalists receiving awards are Bernama reporter Nasarudin Omar, who will receive the BKT, Star Publications (M) Bhd Malacca staff correspondent Lee Yuk Peng and former New Straits Times Press (M) Bhd Malacca staff correspondent Mohd Jeffri Razali, both of whom will receive the PJK, and Nanyang Siang Pau Sdn Bhd reporter Tan Mei Ling, who will receive the PBM.  

Article type: metered
User Type: anonymous web
User Status:
Campaign ID: 1
Cxense type: free
User access status: 3
Subscribe now to our Premium Plan for an ad-free and unlimited reading experience!

Next In Nation

Government to focus on putting LCS project back on track, says Hishammuddin
Agricuture industry players told to stop using carbofuran, chlorpyrifos pesticides
Terengganu boat capsize tragedy: Body of another victim found
Govt studying calls to lift ban on chicken exports, says PM
Public demands for seats might delay electoral pact between BN and GRS
Education Ministry to prepare portal for bullying complaints
PM: Meeting with Perikatan already held
RM200mil allocated for another 173 digital economy centres nationwide, says Annuar Musa
Melimau's highly successful racing circuit project will be proposed for other Melaka districts
Three more nabbed over assault of ustaz, tahfiz student

Others Also Read